Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NAICS (North American Industrial Classification System) codes describe specific industries, and make finding industry information easier.
NAICS codes replaced SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) codes in 1997. However, some sources still use SIC codes. It is always a good idea to have both NAICS and SIC codes when you are doing industry research.
You can find both NAICS and SIC codes at the Census cite, or at sites like SIC code.
There are many books and ebooks in our collection about companies. You can search the library catalog by the name of the company to find them.
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier is an excellent business resource that includes magazines, journals, trade publications, and reports. You can search the database by NAICS code to quickly find all the information on a particular industry. Then you can narrow your search to a specific aspect of the industry by adding addtional search terms on the search form.
Click on Source Types to limit your search to any one of the resource types that are available in the database, like Market Research Reports, or Industry Profiles.
County Business Patterns
Another part of the Census website is County Business Patterns. This is a great source to consult for information about the number of local establishments in an industry.
Part of the Census website, the Economic Census is conducted every five years, and it provides extensive information about industries that includes sales, costs of resources and labor, and employment. This resource is best searched with a NAICS code.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) contains many resources in all subject areas. If you click on Business under Subjects in the left-hand column, you will limit your searching to just the business resources.
Some of those resources that are particularly good for industry information are Encyclopedia of American Industries, Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries, Encyclopedia of Global Industries, International Directory of Company Histories, and Market Share Reporter. You can search the business collection by NAICS or SIC codes.
The encyclopedias give a good overview of the history and development of industries, while Market Share Reporter shows company posistions in the industry. Company Histories is a good source to track the development and changes a specific company has made in response to changing markets and conditions. It is also a good source of information to consult before interviewing with any of the companies it lists.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
This database contains more than 1.1 million records, with coverage dating back to 1931, with full text for over 525 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
Periodicals include Journal of Hospitality & Tourism Education, Hosteur, Asia Pacific Journal of Tourism Research, Current Issues in Tourism, International Journal of Tourism Research, Journal of Sustainable Tourism, Leisure Sciences, Nation's Restaurant News, Restaurant Business and many more.
RKMA Market Research Handbook Series
Each handbook includes market assessments and forecasts, sector trends, profiles of market leaders, and statistics. In addition to in-depth analyses, the handbooks include links to hundreds of websites for additional information.