Research Guides: Chemistry: Research Help

Chemistry Databases

Academic Search Ultimate (ASU) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General collection of journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. Search results can be limited to full text and scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
Chemistry journals from American Chemical Society (ACS), 1996-present
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Search for article abstracts in over 2000 journals in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities, published by Elsevier. Records include citations and abstracts only.
SciFinder Scholar (Chem Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts from Chemical Abstract Service (CAS). If you do not have a SciFinder account, click HERE to register and create a username and password.

Other Online Resources

ChemNetBase - Comprised of Chapman & Hall/CRC's chemistry references - a comprehensive chemistry resource that includes dictionaries and physical property information.
DiscoveryGate - An easy-to-use application for accessing scientific information.
The Merck Index - An encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals that contains more than 12,000 monographs.
PubChem - An open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health.

Journals, Periodicals and Reference

Analytical Chemistry (print)
Biochemistry
Journal of the American Chemical Society (print)
Journal of Chemical Education (print)

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of data commonly encountered by physical scientists and engineers, a comprehensive one-volume reference resource for science research
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text materials from hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, life science, mathematics, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.
Note: This is a Public Library Pioneer database that can be accessed from any Utah internet address. When using a smart phone or tablet you need an internet connection or Wi-Fi. 3G or 4G connections require logging in with your local public library card.

Books and Ebooks

Here at Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to [discipline] (they can help you find items faster).

QD 1-999 - Chemistry
QD 1-65 - General (including alchemy)
QD 71-142 - Analytical chemistry
QD 146-197 - Inorganic chemistry
QD 241-441 - Organic chemistry
QD 415-436 - Biochemistry
QD 450-801 - Physical and theoretical chemistry
QD 625-655 - Radiation chemistry
QD 701-731 - Photochemistry
QD 901-999 - Crystallography

Chemistry Librarian

Melissa Hatch

She/Her

Email Me

ACS Style Guide

This link will take you to the official ACS Style Guide with explanations and examples of how to cite sources in an ACS publication

ACS Style Guide

Chemistry: Research Help

Chemistry Databases

Other Online Resources

ChemNetBase - Comprised of Chapman & Hall/CRC's chemistry references - a comprehensive chemistry resource that includes dictionaries and physical property information.

DiscoveryGate - An easy-to-use application for accessing scientific information.

The Merck Index - An encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals that contains more than 12,000 monographs.

PubChem - An open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health.

Journals, Periodicals and Reference

Books and Ebooks

Chemistry Librarian

ACS Style Guide