It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on Chemistry Research by giving an overview of what Chemistry and Physical Science Resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.
Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Chemistry:
Abstracts from Chemical Abstract Service (CAS). If you do not have a SciFinder account, click HERE to register and create a username and password.
Other Online Resources
PubChem (An open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health)
Journals, Periodicals and Reference
Although many of the resources we have in the Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go. Below is a sample list of some key journals and reference sources we have in print and electronic formats. (Note: Print copies of journals are housed on the first floor of Sherratt Library, organized alphabetically by title.)
Full-text materials from hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, life science, mathematics, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.
Note: This is a Public Library Pioneer database that can be accessed from any Utah internet address. When using a smart phone or tablet you need an internet connection or Wi-Fi. 3G or 4G connections require logging in with your local public library card.
Books and Ebooks
Here at Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to [discipline] (they can help you find items faster).