Research Guides: Theatre Arts & Dance: Dance

Dance Videos

Searching the Catalog

To search for dance videos in the catalog, it is easiest to use the advanced search option.

To just search DVDs, change the location to Media DVD. There is also an option for VHS, if that format is available.

Use the subject line to search for dance. This will pull a list of all the dance videos in the collection.

To search in that collection, add keywords in the words or phrase box at the top, or the title in the title box below it. This searches for genre, topics, and titles, within the dance video collection.

Dance Databases

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive video database covering more than 79,000 titles on anthropology, business, counseling, film health, history, music, and more curated for the educational experience of all types of library patrons.
Dance Education Literature Research descriptive index (DELRdi) This link opens in a new window
DELRdi is an index to research and literature in dance education written from 1926 to the present, including dissertations, theses, articles, conference proceedings, etc.
The Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index (DELRdi) is an index of literature and research from 1926 to the present that informs teaching, learning, and future directions of research in the field of dance education. It contains extensive descriptions of several thousand literary works including theses, dissertations, journal articles, conference proceedings and other documents from over 200+ different publications, more than 150 university dance programs, many organizations, government agencies, and individuals. In addition to providing basic citation information, the DELRdi provides detailed descriptive information on the methodology, techniques, and characteristics of the literature documented in the index. Full text of a document is included when permission is granted by the copyright holder. The DELRdi is the culminating product of a three-year research project supported by the United States Department of Education (2001-2004).
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Research in theatre and the performing arts, with 450+ full-text titles, including 140+ full-text journals, and 300+ full-text books & monographs. From the American Society for Theatre Research, From 1984 - present.
On the Boards This link opens in a new window
A Website that delivers full-length, high quality contemporary performance films to your TV, desktop, or mobile device. One of the first contemporary performance organizations to begin filming works by top caliber artists with multiple high-definition cameras, collaboratively editing the films with the artists, and delivering feature-length performance films to audiences around the globe.