Research Guides: Theatre Arts & Dance: Home

Welcome to the Theater, Dance, & Arts Research Guide!

This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on Theater, Dance, & Arts research by providing an overview of what pertinent resources are available via the Sherratt Library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.

Library Resources for Theater Arts and Dance

Databases

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Comprehensive video database covering more than 79,000 titles on anthropology, business, counseling, film health, history, music, and more curated for the educational experience of all types of library patrons.
Arts & Humanities Database
Hundreds of journal titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.
Dance Education Literature Research descriptive index (DELRdi)
DELRdi is an index to research and literature in dance education written from 1926 to the present, including dissertations, theses, articles, conference proceedings, etc.

The Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index (DELRdi) is an index of literature and research from 1926 to the present that informs teaching, learning, and future directions of research in the field of dance education. It contains extensive descriptions of several thousand literary works including theses, dissertations, journal articles, conference proceedings and other documents from over 200+ different publications, more than 150 university dance programs, many organizations, government agencies, and individuals. In addition to providing basic citation information, the DELRdi provides detailed descriptive information on the methodology, techniques, and characteristics of the literature documented in the index. Full text of a document is included when permission is granted by the copyright holder. The DELRdi is the culminating product of a three-year research project supported by the United States Department of Education (2001-2004).
Digital Theatre Plus

Founded in 2009, Digital Theatre+ provides powerful ways to connect ELA and Theatre students with dramatic texts, poetry and performance. Today, Digital Theatre+ delivers engaging learning experiences for ELA and Theatre to students and educators in over 3,000 schools, colleges, and universities in 90+ countries.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
Research in theatre and the performing arts, with 450+ full-text titles, including 140+ full-text journals, and 300+ full-text books & monographs. From the American Society for Theatre Research, From 1984 - present.
JSTOR
Full text academic journals in many disciplines, typically limited to issues older than 1-5 years. Search for your topic from the JSTOR search window or select BROWSE by Subject.
Naxos Music Library
Comprehensive collection of classical music recordings from the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 248,000 tracks. Classical, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music.
On the Boards
A Website that delivers full-length, high quality contemporary performance films to your TV, desktop, or mobile device. One of the first contemporary performance organizations to begin filming works by top caliber artists with multiple high-definition cameras, collaboratively editing the films with the artists, and delivering feature-length performance films to audiences around the globe.
Oxford Music Online
Project Muse
Journals and select books from the university presses of Johns Hopkins, Ohio State, Penn State, U of California, U of Arizona, U of Maryland, U of North Carolina, U of Virginia, and other institutions

Covers literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
This release of The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, and other scholarly materials.

Other Helpful Resources

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Note: to get full text access to the articles you'll locate via Google Scholar, follow these instructions to set up your browser:

Click the three bars located in the upper, left-hand corner of the Google Scholar home screen
Click Settings
Click Library links
Enter Southern Utah into the search box and press Enter
Click the checkbox that appears next to Southern Utah University
Click the Save button
All of your Google Scholar results will now include links to full text articles that are available via the SUU Library. These links will be located to the right of each listed article

Journals and Periodicals

Below is a list of several film-related journals we have available via electronic format.

Dance Articulated
Dance Chronicle
Dance Education in Practice
Dance Magazine [Sherratt Library Print Journals Collection]
Dance Major Journal
Dance Research
Dance Research Journal
Dance Teacher Now [Sherratt Library Print Journals Collection]
Dance/USA
Dancecult: Journal of Electronic Dance Music Culture
Journal of Dance Medicine & Science
Tánc és Nevelés (Dance & Education)
Theatre Academy
Theatre, Dance & Performance Training
Theatre Design and Performance: A Scenography Journal
Theatre Design & Technology (TD&T)
Theatre History Studies
Theatre Practice
Theatre Research International
Theatre Survey
Theatre Symposium
Theatre Topics

Books and Ebooks

Here at the Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and ebooks. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Theatre, Dance, & Arts (the call numbers can help you to find materials that are located on our shelves).

GV1580-1799.4: Dancing
PN1600-3307: Dramatic representation. The theater
PN2061-2071: Art of acting
PN2085-2091: The stage and accessories
PN3035: The Jewish theater
PN3151-3171: Amateur theater
PN3175-3191: College and school theatricals
PN3203-3299: Tableaux, pageants, "Happenings," etc.

Director of Gerald R. Sherratt Library/Associate Professor

Phil Roche

Email Me

Contact:

My office is Sherratt Library 302C
My email address is roche@suu.edu
To schedule an appointment to connect with me, click "book now" above

You may also reach me by phone at 435-586-1955

Subjects: Dance & Theatre Arts, Kinesiology, Physical Education