Research Guides: Anthropology: Research Help

Welcome to the Anthropology Research Guide!

This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on Anthropology Research by giving an overview of what Anthropology Resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.

Library Resources for Anthropology

Databases

Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Anthropology:

Academic Search Ultimate (ASU) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General collection of journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. Search results can be limited to full text and scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text academic journals in many disciplines, typically limited to issues older than 1-5 years. Search for your topic from the JSTOR search window or select BROWSE by Subject.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of sociology journals, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
In addition to nearly 900 full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,500 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from nearly 420 "priority" coverage journals and over 2,900 "selective" coverage journals. Complete with extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources the database also includes searchable cited references are provided.

Journals and Periodicals

Although many of the journals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go. Below is a list of journals we have in print and electronic formats. (Note: Print copies of journals are housed on the first floor of Sherratt Library, organized alphabetically by title.)

Cultural Survival Quarterly (online)
Yearbook (online)
American Anthropologist (online)
Cultural Anthropology (online)
American Ethnologist (online)
Current Anthropology (online)
Human Organization (request through Interlibrary Loan)
Man/Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute (online)

Books and Ebooks

Here at Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Anthropology (they can help you find items faster).

CC 1-960 Archaeology

	CC 72-81	Philosophy. Theory
	CC 73-81	Methodology
	CC 83-97	Study and teaching. Research
	CC 135-137	Preservation, restoration, and conservation of antiquities.Antiquities and state
	CC 140	Forgeries of antiquities
	CC 200-260	Bells. Campanology. Cowbells
	CC 300-350	Crosses
	CC 600-605	Boundary stones
	CC 700-705	Stone heaps, cairns, etc., of unknown purpose
	CC 710	Hill figures
	CC 960	Lanterns of the dead

GN 1-890: Anthropology

	GN 49-298	Physical anthropology
	GN 301-674	Ethnology. Social and cultural anthropology
	GN 406-517	Cultural traits, customs, and institutions
	GN 451-477.7	Intellectual life. Including communication, recreation, philosophy, religion, knowledge, etc.
	GN 478-491.7	Social organization
	GN 492-495.2	Political organization. Political anthropology
	GN 502-517	Psychological anthropology
	GN 537-674	Ethnic groups and races
	GN 700-890	Prehistoric archeology

Librarian for Anthropology

Richard Saunders

Email Me

Contact:

Office hours: https://richard-saunders.youcanbook.me
Sherratt Library 303f

435.865.8392

Subjects: Engineering, History & Current Affairs, Music, Sociology

Get Help!

Chat with a Librarian

Do you have questions? We're here to help!

OR, text your question to
435-215-4SUU (4788)