Research Guides: Information Systems: Research Help

Welcome to the Information Systems Research Guide!

This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on Information Systems Research by giving an overview of what Information Systems Resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.

Databases

Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Information Systems:

Academic Search Ultimate (ASU) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General collection of journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. Search results can be limited to full text and scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Computer science journals and conference proceedings from Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
Computer Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for more than 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.\n
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides Web access to full-text documents from publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. The content in IEEE Xplore comprises journals, conference proceedings, eBooks and educational courses.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text academic journals in many disciplines, typically limited to issues older than 1-5 years. Search for your topic from the JSTOR search window or select BROWSE by Subject.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Search for article abstracts in over 2000 journals in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities, published by Elsevier. Records include citations and abstracts only.

Other Online Resources

arXiv.org
- Open e-print archive with over 100,000 articles in physics, 10,000 in mathematics, and 1,000 in computer science.
O'Reilly Online Learning
- To access, enter your SUU issued email address, which will provide temporary access for 3 days, (if you don't clear your cookies or change browsers). If you choose to register you may have longer access, otherwise just sign up for temporary access again. Search, browse, read full text information technology and business ebooks online.

Journals and Periodicals

Although many of the journals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go.

Follow this link to see the top journals in Engineering & Computer Science. Click on Subcategories and pick a field like Databases & Information Systems to see a list of the top journals in that field. Once you find a title you are interested in, please search that title by following the link Find Journal by Title on the library’s homepage. This will indicate whether we have the journal in print or in databases, which databases, and the dates covered.

Books and Ebooks

Here at Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Information Systems (they can help you find items faster).

T58.5-58.64 Information Technology
T58.6-58.62 Management Information Systems
TK5103-5105.5 Computer Networks

Scott Lanning

Email Me

Contact:

Scott Lanning
Library 303B
To make an appointment click on "book now" or send me an email, or stop by my Zoom room and see if I'm online! (https://suu-edu.zoom.us/j/5781944851)

435 865-8156

Get Help!

Chat with a Librarian

Do you have questions? We're here to help!

OR, text your question to
435-215-4SUU (4788)

Manage and Cite your Resources

For information on research and citation management, go to the Specialized Resources tab at the top of this page, and scroll down to the Manage and Cite your Resources box.