Research Guides: College of Performing & Visual Arts: Find Articles

Start Your Research Here

Following is a selected list of research databases to begin your research. To access all SUU research databases go to the Library / Research / Articles & Journals / Arts & Humanities.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text academic journals in many disciplines, typically limited to issues older than 1-5 years. Search for your topic from the JSTOR search window or select BROWSE by Subject.
Oxford Reference Online - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Search over 350 dictionaries and other reference resources in all subjects, using this single search interface from the famous publisher, Oxford University Press.
Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.

Key Resources: Art & Design

Mouse over link for details:

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window

Key Resources: Arts Administration

Mouse over link for details:

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Key Resources: Music

Mouse over link for details:

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window

Key Resources: Shakespeare Studies

Mouse over link for details:

Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window

Key Resources: Theatre Arts & Dance

Mouse over link for details:

Dance Education Literature Research descriptive index (DELRdi) This link opens in a new window
The Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index (DELRdi) is an index of literature and research from 1926 to the present that informs teaching, learning, and future directions of research in the field of dance education. It contains extensive descriptions of several thousand literary works including theses, dissertations, journal articles, conference proceedings and other documents from over 200+ different publications, more than 150 university dance programs, many organizations, government agencies, and individuals. In addition to providing basic citation information, the DELRdi provides detailed descriptive information on the methodology, techniques, and characteristics of the literature documented in the index. Full text of a document is included when permission is granted by the copyright holder. The DELRdi is the culminating product of a three-year research project supported by the United States Department of Education (2001-2004).
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window

What the icons mean

Is there full text?

= full text available
= limited full text or abstracts only

Source details:

= open access (no login required)
= provided by Utah Academic Library Consortium
= statistics
= U.S. Government source

Format:

= Media: audio, video, images
= MS Word
= MS Excel
= MS PPT
= PDF

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan enables current SUU students, faculty, and staff to request books or receive electronic copies of articles that are available from other libraries.

To use Interlibrary Loan, from the library homepage, scroll down and click on Interlibrary Loan under Using the Library.

If you've searched the Library Catalog and discover the SUU library doesn't have the book you need. Book requests will be delivered in approximately one week of request.
If you've searched the Full Text Finder or Find Journals by Title for a journal that has an article you want and find that the SUU library doesn't have access to that journal. Articles will be delivered as electronic (pdf) copies to your Interlibrary Loan account, usually within a few days.