Research Guides: Computer Science: Research Help

Welcome to the Computer Science Research Guide!

This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on Computer Science Research by giving an overview of what Computer Science Resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.

Databases

Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Computer Science:

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Computer science journals and conference proceedings from Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
Computer Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection provides unmatched discipline-specific coverage spanning thousands of publications, many in full text.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides Web access to full-text documents from publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. The content in IEEE Xplore comprises journals, conference proceedings, eBooks and educational courses.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text academic journals in many disciplines, typically limited to issues older than 1-5 years. Search for your topic from the JSTOR search window or select BROWSE by Subject.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The largest single article platform available in Sherratt Library, searching across databases in major subject areas including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Search for article abstracts in over 2000 journals in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities, published by Elsevier. Records include citations and abstracts only.

Other Online Resources

arXiv.org - Computer Science
- arXiv is an open, curated, research-sharing platform. It contains articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
CiteSeerX
- CiteSeer^X is a search engine that is focused primarily on computer and information science.
dblp computer science bibliography
- dblp is a comprehensive index of papers from computer science conferences and journals providing high-quality bibliographic metadata and links to electronic editions of publications with a focus on international publication mainly in English.
DOAJ
- DOAJ stands for Directory of Open Access Journals. DOAJ is an extensive index of open access journals and is committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone. You can search for journals in specific fields, or search for articles on a topic.
IntechOpen – Physical Sciences, Engineering and Technology
- IntechOpen provides open access to peer-reviewed research, including books, in computer science and other fields.
National Academies Press – Computers & Information Technology
- The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine which provides authoritative and independently researched information. NAP offers thousands of titles in the fields of science, engineering, and medicine and most are available for free.
O'Reilly Online Learning
- To access, enter your SUU issued email address, which will provide temporary access for 3 days, (if you don't clear your cookies or change browsers). If you choose to register you may have longer access, otherwise just sign up for temporary access again. Search, browse, read full text information technology and business ebooks online.
Semantic Scholar
- Semantic Scholar provides free, AI-driven search and discovery tools, including many open-access journal articles covering all fields of science and gathered from multiple archives.
TechRxiv
- TechRxiv is an open, moderated preprint server for unpublished research in the areas of engineering, computer science, and related technology. A preprint is a draft version of an article. It is not peer reviewed and should not be regarded as conclusive.

Journals and Periodicals

Although many of the journals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go.

Follow this link to see the top journals in Engineering & Computer Science. Click on Subcategories and pick a field like Computer Vision & Pattern Recognition or Human Computer Interaction to see a list of the top journals in that field. Once you find a title you are interested in, please search that title by following the link Find a Journal on the library’s homepage. This will indicate whether we have the journal in print or in databases, which databases, and the dates covered.

Books and Ebooks

Here at Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Computer Science (they can help you find items faster).

QA75.5-76.95 Electronic Computers, Computer Science

Both print books and ebooks can be found by searching the library catalog, here. You can go directly to an ebook databases to search for materials. Those resources are listed below.

EBSCO eBook Comprehensive Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Many of these ebook titles appropriate for research at the college level are also searchable through the SUU Library Catalog, but due to the rotating nature of this collection, your most effective searching is done directly at the database.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 160,000 eBooks from over 60 publishers including Springer, Taylor & Francis and Wiley Interscience covering a broad range of subject areas and topics. Users can search, cite, browse and read the full text of the eBooks online.
O'Reilly Online Learning This link opens in a new window
For renewable temporary access, choose the first option in the drop-down box on the landing page (i.e. Not listed), and enter your SUU-assigned email address in the next dialog box. Good for three days if you don't clear your cookies or change browsers. If you choose to register you may have longer access, otherwise just sign up for temporary access again. Search, browse, read full text information technology and business ebooks online.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Ebook Central is your ultimate Ebook Platform providing breadth and depth of authoritative content which offers scholarly ebooks from leading publishers paired with a sophisticated platform.

Librarian for Computer Science

Tammy Buehler

Email Me

Contact:

Library 306A

435.865.8241

Get Help!

Chat with a Librarian

Do you have questions? We're here to help!

OR, text your question to
435-215-4SUU (4788)

Manage and Cite your Resources

For information on research and citation management, go to the Specialized Resources tab at the top of this page, and scroll down to the Manage and Cite your Resources box.