Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Photography:
Academic Search Ultimate (ASU) This link opens in a new window
General collection of journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. Search results can be limited to full text and scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications on fine, decorative and commercial art, photography, folk art, film, and architecture. 660 periodicals dating back to 1972, including nearly 360 peer-reviewed journals, and citations to over 14,000 art dissertations.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Digital library of more than 1M images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists and artists' estates.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
This very comprehensive streaming video database has over 67k titles on virtually every subject you can imagine, including topics related directly to photography and design.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text academic journals in many disciplines, typically limited to issues older than 1-5 years. Search for your topic from the JSTOR search window or select BROWSE by Subject.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video resource to which SUU subscribes. The current videos to which the university has access are listed alphabetically in the linked pages and may be viewed by students, faculty, and staff.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today
Periodicals and Serials
Although many of the journals and annuals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, sometimes a print copy is the only way to go. Below is a list of periodicals and serials we have both in print and electronic formats (and occasionally, only in print). Note that print copies of periodicals are housed in the collapsible shelves on the first level, organized alphabetically by title, serials are in the book shelves, organized by call number, like books. What's the difference between a periodical and a serial? Periodicals are published 2 or more times per year; serials are published annually or less frequently. View the links below for holdings and location:
Books and eBooks
At Sherratt Library we use the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize the items on our shelves. These call "numbers" (they're really letters) on the spines are used for most of our items, including print books and ebooks. Below is a list of call numbers that relate to Art (browsing the shelves of these sections on the 2nd level--or, 3rd level for Oversized items, can reveal resources you never knew you needed)!
Click either of the links below to see a PDF of more complete breakdowns for each number at the Library of Congress.
N Visual arts
At Sherratt Library we also use Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) to provide access to groups of items with a subject in common. You might find some useful ones typing the following authorized (i.e. standardized) subject headings into the search box on the Sherratt Library landing page. So, besides Photographers, Photographs, and Photography, try:
- Action photography
- Aerial photographs
- Applied photography
- Architecture photographers
- Commercial photography
- Composition (Photography)
- Depth of field (Photography)
- Images, Photographic
- Landscape photographers
- Technical illustration
- Outdoor photography
- Photographic criticism
- Photographic industry
- Photographic interpretation
- Portrait photographers
- Sports photographers
- Travel photography
- Wide-angle photography
- Wildlife photographers
- Women photographers
- Zoom lens photography
Librarian for Studio Arts