Research Help - Painting, Drawing, & Printmaking - Studio Arts - Research Guides at Southern Utah University

Welcome to the Painting, Drawing, & Printmaking - Studio Arts Research Guide!

This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on Painting, Drawing, & Printmaking Research by giving an overview of what resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them. This guide was built in support of the SUU Fine Arts (BFA) in Studio Arts with a Painting, Drawing, & Printmaking emphasis and Painting/Drawing/Printmaking Minor (SUU Catalog).

Databases

Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Painting, Drawing, & Printmaking:

Academic Search Ultimate (ASU) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General collection of journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. Search results can be limited to full text and scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications on fine, decorative and commercial art, photography, folk art, film, and architecture. 660 periodicals dating back to 1972, including nearly 360 peer-reviewed journals, and citations to over 14,000 art dissertations.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Digital library of more than 1M images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists and artists' estates.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text academic journals in many disciplines, typically limited to issues older than 1-5 years. Search for your topic from the JSTOR search window or select BROWSE by Subject.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy streaming video service provides videos that have be selected by your intsructors. Current video topics to which the University has access include those on various aspects of Art, including Drawing, Typography, Design, and historically significant Painters and other artists.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today

Other Online Resources

Accrediting Body

National Association of Schools of Art and Design (NASAD)

Periodicals and Serials

Although many of the journals and annuals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, sometimes a print copy is the only way to go. Below is a list of periodicals and serials we have in print and electronic formats. (Note: Print copies of periodicals are housed in the collapsible shelves on the first level, organized alphabetically by title, where serials are in the book shelves, organized by call number, like books).

Communication Arts Magazine view link for holdings and location
Metropolis (NY) view link for holdings and location
Print view link for holdings and location

Books and eBooks

At Sherratt Library we use the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize the items on our shelves. These call "numbers" (they're really letters) on the spines are used for most of our items, including print books and ebooks. Below is a list of call numbers that relate to Art (browsing these sections in the shelves on the 2nd level, or 3rd level for oversized items, can reveal resources you never knew you needed)!

Click any of the links below to see a PDF of more complete breakdowns for each number at the Library of Congress.

N Visual arts
NC Drawing. Design. Illustration
ND Painting
NE Print media
NX Arts in general

And,

Z Books (General). Writing. Paleography. Book industries and trade. Libraries. Bibliography