Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Art History Research Guide!
This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on Art History Research by giving an overview of what Art History resources are available in the Library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them. This resource guide was created in support of the SUU Art History Major and Minor.
Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Art History:
Academic Search Ultimate (ASU) This link opens in a new window
Our largest general subject database; more helpful for contemporary art history, but may include exposées on news topics from any period of art history.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications on fine, decorative and commercial art, photography, folk art, film, and architecture. 660 periodicals dating back to 1972, including nearly 360 peer-reviewed journals, and citations to over 14,000 art dissertations.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Digital library of more than 1M images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists and artists' estates.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Our deepest dive database, carrying titles that extend back to the era of many modern-era artists and art movements, as they happened. Also includes some of the very best writings by art critics and historians of the past.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today
Other Online Resources
Periodicals and Serials
Although many of the journals and annuals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, sometimes a print copy is the only way to go. Below is a list of periodicals and serials we have in print and electronic formats. (Note: Print copies of periodicals are housed in the collapsible shelves on the first level, organized alphabetically by title, where serials are in the book shelves, organized by call number, like books).
Books and eBooks
At Sherratt Library we use the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize the items on our shelves. These call "numbers" (they're really letters) on the spines are used for most of our items, including print books and ebooks. Below is a list of call numbers that relate to Art (browsing these sections in the shelves on the 2nd level, or 3rd level for oversized items, can reveal resources you never knew you needed)!
Click any of the links below to see a PDF of more complete breakdowns for each number at the Library of Congress. And remember, while items in these sections may include historical contexts, there are history items that may also include cultural perspectives on art, artists, and movements.
N Visual arts
NC Drawing. Design. Illustration
NE Print media
NK Decorative arts
NX Arts in general
TT Handicrafts. Arts and crafts
Z Books (General). Writing. Paleography. Book industries and trade. Libraries. Bibliography
Librarian for Art History