Research Guides: Elementary Education: Research Help

Welcome to the Elementary Education Research Guide!

This guide is to help support your Elementary Education research by giving an overview of what Elementary Education resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.

Databases

The Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Elementary Education:

Academic Search Ultimate (ASU) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General collection of journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. Search results can be limited to full text and scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
Children's Core Collection (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
A collection-development, readers’ advisory, and curriculum support resource for educators and librarians working with elementary students. Containing more than 45,000 titles, this resource covers fiction and nonfiction works, story collections, and picture books recommended for readers in preschool through sixth grade. Professional literature for the children's librarian is also covered.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) This link opens in a new window
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is the premier academic research and teaching tool for courses needing quality information for locating Children’s and Young Adult books and other media. The content includes over 2.6 million fiction/non-fiction records with 650,000+ national and international awards plus 540,000+ quality, professional reviews.
Search options allow users to locate books by age level, grade level, reading levels, genre, author/illustrator, language and more. Many curriculum tools are also available, including: lesson plans, teaching guides and discussion guides.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles from nearly 530 journals, with full-text coverage dating back to 1996.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Educational Resources Information Center. Index to journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, and standards and guidelines back to 1966.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Containing full-text for more than 80 of the most popular elementary school magazines, Primary Search is designed specifically for elementary school libraries.
Featuring content from Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, Primary Search provides students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. All full-text articles are assigned reading level indicators (Lexiles) that provide educators with an estimate of the result’s reading difficulty and the approximate grade-level reading ability required for comprehension. Lexiles help teachers meet the needs of students with varying reading abilities and interests and allow students to read along at their own pace.

In addition, this database provides access to a collection of more than one million images of relevant photos, maps, and flags to aid kids in learning.

Other Online Resources

National Educator's Association - The nation's largest professional organization in support of public education
Utah Education Network (UEN) - Connects Utah educational institutions with quality education resources.
Utah's Online Library - Educational databases and resources for teachers and students provided by the state.
Utah State Board of Education - Elected officials that provides oversight for public education in Utah, including standards and licensing.
Common Sense Education - Research-backed reviews and recommendations on educational media, technology, and entertainment.

Journals and Periodicals

Although many of the journals we have in the Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go. Below is a list of journals we have in print and electronic formats. See titles for links to each journal. (Note: Print copies of journals are housed on the first floor of the Sherratt Library, organized alphabetically by title.)

American Journal on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (print)
The Elementary School Journal
Exceptional Children: Journal of the International Council for Exceptional Children
The Reading Teacher
Journal of Elementary Science Education

Books and Ebooks

Here at the Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Elementary Education (they can help you find items on the shelf).

Class L: Education is the classification used by the Library of Congress Classification system and the one we use here at SUU. Education books are located on the Second Floor at these call numbers:

L - Education (General)
LA - History of Education
LB - Theory and Practice of Education
LC - Special Aspects of Education
LD - Individual Institutions - United States
LE - Individual Institutions - America (except United States)
LF - Individual Institutions - Europe
LG - Individual Institutions - Asia, Africa, Indian Ocean Islands, Australia, New Zealand, Pacific Islands
LH - College and School Magazines and Papers
LJ - Student Fraternities - United States
LT - Textbooks

Dewey Decimal Classification System:

The Curriculum and Juvenile Collections are located on the Third Floor and use the Dewey Decimal System, the same system used by school libraries. The Curriculum Collection contains Utah textbooks and the Juvenile Collection has fiction and nonfiction books for K-12 students. Check out these call numbers on our third floor:

000 - Computer Science, Information & General Works
100 - Philosophy & Psychology
200 - Religion
300 - Social Sciences
400 - Language
500 - Science
600 - Technology
700 - Arts & Recreation
800 - Literature
900 - History & Geography

Caitlin Gerrity

Email Me

Contact:

LIB303C
Gerald R. Sherratt Library

435-586-1908

Get Help!

Chat with a Librarian

Do you have questions? We're here to help!

OR, text your question to
435-215-4SUU (4788)