Elementary Education: Research Help

Welcome to the Elementary Education Research Guide!

This guide is to help support your Elementary Education research by giving an overview of what Elementary Education resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.

Databases

The Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Elementary Education:

Other Online Resources

• National Educator's Association - The nation's largest professional organization in support of public education
• Utah Education Network (UEN) - Connects Utah educational institutions with quality education resources.
• Utah's Online Library - Educational databases and resources for teachers and students provided by the state.
• Utah State Board of Education - Elected officials that provides oversight for public education in Utah, including standards and licensing. 
• Common Sense Education - Research-backed reviews and recommendations on educational media, technology, and entertainment.

Journals and Periodicals

Although many of the journals we have in the Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go. Below is a list of journals we have in print and electronic formats. See titles for links to each journal. (Note: Print copies of journals are housed on the first floor of the Sherratt Library, organized alphabetically by title.)

• American Journal on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (print)
• The Elementary School Journal
• Exceptional Children: Journal of the International Council for Exceptional Children
• The Reading Teacher
• Journal of Elementary Science Education

Books and Ebooks

Here at the Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Elementary Education (they can help you find items on the shelf).

Class L: Education is the classification used by the Library of Congress Classification system and the one we use here at SUU. Education books are located on the Second Floor at these call numbers:

• L - Education (General)
• LA - History of Education
• LB - Theory and Practice of Education
• LC - Special Aspects of Education
• LD - Individual Institutions - United States
• LE - Individual Institutions - America (except United States)
• LF - Individual Institutions - Europe
• LG - Individual Institutions - Asia, Africa, Indian Ocean Islands, Australia, New Zealand, Pacific Islands
• LH - College and School Magazines and Papers
• LJ - Student Fraternities - United States
• LT - Textbooks

Dewey Decimal Classification System: 

The Curriculum and Juvenile Collections are located on the Third Floor and use the Dewey Decimal System, the same system used by school libraries. The Curriculum Collection contains Utah textbooks and the Juvenile Collection has fiction and nonfiction books for K-12 students. Check out these call numbers on our third floor:

• 000 - Computer Science, Information & General Works
• 100 - Philosophy & Psychology
• 200 - Religion
• 300 - Social Sciences
• 400 - Language
• 500 - Science
• 600 - Technology
• 700 - Arts & Recreation
• 800 - Literature
• 900 - History & Geography