It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for hundreds of popular high school magazines and reference books, tens of thousands of biographies, and thousands of primary source documents. MAS Complete also provides an image collection containing more than 1.2 million photos, maps, flags, and color PDFs.
This database contains full text for dozens of popular middle school magazines as well as thousands of biographies and historical essays.
Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books such as the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, the Encyclopedia of Animals, and more than one million relevant photos, maps, and flags.
All full-text articles are assigned reading level indicators (Lexiles) that provide educators with an estimate of the result’s reading difficulty and the approximate grade-level reading ability required for comprehension. Lexiles help teachers meet the needs of students with varying reading abilities and interests and allow students to read along at their own pace.
With more than 1,200 newspapers, this database provides a comprehensive collection of the world's major newspaper content. Newspapers include the Salt Lake Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC), The Philadelphia Inquirer, Star Tribune (Minneapolis), and more.
Includes nearly 2000 news sources including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, The Christian Science Monitor, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, The Denver Post and USA Today.
Journals and Periodicals
Although many of the journals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go. Below is a list of journals we have in print and electronic formats. (Note: Print copies of journals are housed on the first floor of Sherratt Library, organized alphabetically by title.)
Here at Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to learning the English language (they can help you find items faster).
PE 1-3729 English Language
PE 1001-1693 Modern English
PE 1700-3602 Dialects
PE 3701-3729 Slang
PN 6700-6790 Graphic Novels and Comic Books
PZ 1-90 Fiction and Graded Readers
Juvenile Collection 3rd Floor
Books for ages and interests from Kindergarten to High School
Merriam-Webster's Word-For-Word Spanish-English DictionaryA new title that offers word-for-word equivalents for each term in Spanish and English. Designed especially for Spanish speakers preparing for standardized tests in English. 50,000 bidirectional, bilingual entries (English to Spanish and Spanish to English) cover core vocabulary. User-friendly format for easy word search.
Call Number: PC4640 .M48 2016
Oxford-Hachette French DictionaryAcclaimed by language professionals the world over, the Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary has long been the market leader. Using the statistical evidence provided by vast electronic databanks of language currently being written and spoken, our expert editors have made it the most comprehensive, reliable, and up-to-date dictionary of French and English available today. This fully updated fourth edition has even better coverage of the language than ever before, with improved treatment of acronyms and EU terminology, as well as thousands of new words in both English and French. A must for anyone studying the French language, this dictionary has been tailored to the needs of students in consultation with key academic advisors. This edition contains even more of the useful information for language students or part-time residents abroad, including sample bills and rental agreements. By far the most up-to-date and complete French dictionary of its size, it will provide one-stop shopping for all your language needs. #65533; NEW thousands of new words spanning everything from technology and medicine to colloquial slang #65533; NEW headwords in color and changes to layout to further improve accessibility #65533; Increased coverage of acronyms and EU terminology #65533; More material for students on their year abroad or anyone living in the French speaking world e.g. sample utility bills, bank statements, rent agreements #65533; NEW and updated cultural notes--grasp the essence of the language #65533; A 'numbers' page at the start of the dictionary covers the increasing frequency of numeric abbreviations, such as '0800 number' and '24/7' Discover more on oxforddictionaries.com, Oxford's hub for dictionaries and language reference.
Call Number: PC2640 .O83 2007
Oxford Chinese DictionaryBy far the largest, most authoritative and up-to-date single-volume Chinese-English and English-Chinese dictionary in print, the Oxford Chinese Dictionary is the result of a remarkable collaboration of scholars working in Oxford, Hong Kong, and mainland China. It has been produced using the latest lexicographic methods and is based on research in both the Oxford English Corpus and the LIVAC corpus from the City University of Hong Kong. The result is truly a definitive dictionary, with over 300,000 words and phrases and 370,000 translations, including the latest vocabulary from computing, business, the media, and the arts, as well as tens of thousands of example phrases illustrating key points of construction and usage. There are over 300 cultural notes giving essential information about many aspects of life and culture in the Chinese- and English-speaking worlds. Extensive supplementary material includes sample letters and emails, guides to telephoning and text messaging in both Chinese and English, chronologies of Chinese history and culture, and features on particularly difficult aspects of the Chinese language. There are also over 50 pages of lexical and usage notes which contain helpful information about the Chinese and English languages. All the Chinese headwords are shown with Pinyin and tones, so that the learner of Chinese can pronounce each one correctly. Chinese headwords are given in simplified Chinese characters but traditional Chinese character versions are also given in brackets when they differ from the simplified form. All other characters in the dictionary, such as compounds and examples, are shown in simplified characters. The Chinese-English section of the dictionary is organized alphabetically by Pinyin and there is also a radical index which allows you to look up a character without knowing its Pinyin form. Authoritative and comprehensive, and packed with helpful features, this ground-breaking dictionary is an indispensable reference for any serious student of Mandarin Chinese or English as well as professionals and translators. Discover more on oxforddictionaries.com, Oxford's hub for dictionaries and language reference.
Call Number: PL1455 .O88 2010
The Oxford ESL DictionaryHelps students learning American or Canadian English make the breakthrough from basic survival vocabulary to greater fluency and confidence with the written word.