Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gerald R. Sherratt Library

 

Criminal Justice/Law: Academic Search Ultimate

Guide to selected print and electronic criminal justice and law information sources available to SUU students, faculty and staff. For more information or help, contact the Department Librarian below or Library Reference at 865-8040.

Searching Academic Search Ultimate

Search the Academic Search Ultimate database for articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. Search results can be limited to full text and scholarly (peer reviewed) journals. This database is produced by the EBSCO company from which we purchase many other databases as well.

From the Library homepage click scroll down and select Articles and Journals, then Academic Search Ultimate is usually the top one in the A-Z Database list. The following tips for searching can be used for all the EBSCO databases.

  1. Enter keywords or phrases and click Search. If necessary, add additional keywords to narrow your results.
  2. In the Refine Results column you can limit your results by selecting Full TextScholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals, or by narrowing the Publication Date. You can also narrow your results by selecting a Source Type: Academic JournalsMagazines, or Newspapers.
  3. Click on the HTML or Full Text to view the article.
  4. Click on an article title to see a Tools menu on the right for options to PrintE-mailSave, or Cite the article.
  5. Click on the Cite button to copy/paste the citation in APA or MLA format. (Make any necessary corrections before using these citations in your Works Cited or Reference lists.)

The following video (2:18) shows how to limit searches by article type:

This video (1:48) shows how to use the citation and emails tools in EBSCO databases.