Criminal Justice/Law: Statistics, Professional & Government Publications (2 & 4)

Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.

Primarily statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States, with selected international data. For the print copies see SUU Reference HA202.U5.

Online guide to government information and services.

Statistics about crimes committed in the state of Utah are collected from law enforcement agencies in cities and counties throughout Utah. This information is analyzed and summarized by the The Utah Department of Public Safety.

Utah crime statistics from USA.com, a private company providing local information for cities in the U.S. Data should be cross checked with Federal or State sources.

Provides resource regarding legal matters and court functions.

Online access to the Utah Code, Constitution, and Laws of Utah.

Collects and analyzes information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

FBI's statistics on crime in the United States in general as well as hate crime statistics and law enforcement officers killed or assaulted on duty. See Publications, especially Crime in the United States (an annual publication in which the FBI compiles volume and rate of crime offenses for the nation, the states, and individual agencies.)

The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents. Under Research Tools select Statistics for data, analysis and prepared information by homeland security topic and agency.

Research data available from ICPSR, Bureau of Justice Statistics, and National Institute of Justice.

The NCJRS is a Federally sponsored program, hosts one of the largest criminal and juvenile justice libraries and databases in the world, the NCJRS Abstracts Database. Click LIBRARY for NCJRSA Abstracts Database Search and Online Federal Resources.

NIC's Digital Resources Library covers over 3,000 items, accessible online, that have been produced by NIC or other sources. You can use the search engine on the right or browse through categories.

Collects information regarding national police use of force statistics. (in progress)

This is currently the most thorough database of use of deadly force incidents. Information is collected by researchers at the Washington Post.

The data sets described on this site cover a range of topics including: the characteristics of violent juvenile offenders, student victimization at school, sexual activity, and substance use. Data sources include official records and self-report data from surveys.

The Center has become the source to which most people turn for accurate and unbiased information on juvenile crime and the juvenile justice system in the United States.

The National Juvenile Court Data Archive provides access to automated juvenile court data sets for juvenile justice research and policymaking efforts.

The Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) provides national leadership, coordination, and resources to prevent and respond to juvenile delinquency and victimization.

International country information and statistics.

Justice statistics from the United Nations, International data sets from the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data and links to official country websites.

Click Statistics link in left panel for worldwide statistics collections.

The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation's leading provide of quality data about its people and economy.