Research Guides: College of Education and Human Development: Data/Statistics

Education Data & Statistics

Chronicle of Higher Education- Facts and Figures
Provides statistics relevant to higher education.
Digest of Educational Statistics
Statistics covering American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. The Digest includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES).
Education Week Research Center
The Education Counts database contains more than 250 state-level K-12 education indicators, many spanning multiple years. Included are data collected for Education Week's annual reports, Quality Counts and Technology Counts.
Kids Count Data Center
A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, KIDS COUNT is the premier source for data on child and family well-being in the United States.
National Assessment of Educational Progress
The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the only nationally representative and continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
Utah State Office of Education: Data
USOE Data & Statistics

State Websites

Certification Requirements for 50 States
Links to the teacher certification requirements for the 50 States.
State Education Agencies
Contact information for state education departments/agencies for all U.S. states and territories.
Utah State Office of Education (USOE)
USOE links to Departments, Data & Statistics, and Information.

Federal Websites

Child Care and Early Education Research Connections
Resources related to child care and early education to age 13. Includes information about national, state, and local policies, the workforce, settings, grants, jobs, and user families.
Ed.gov (U.S. Department of Education)
Spanish version
Comprehensive site for a wide variety of education topics organized for students, parents, teachers, and administrators. Includes lesson plans, career and technical information, study abroad opportunites, performance reports, standards, fact sheets, speeches, financial aid, grants, and initiatives.
FREE (Federal Resources for Educational Excellence)
Contains more than 1,500 teaching and learning resources from dozens of federal agencies. Subjects include arts and music, health and physical education, history and social studies, language arts, math, and science.
Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services
Provides support to parents and individuals, school districts and states in three areas: special education, vocational rehabilitation and research.
Read.gov
Library of Congress site which encourages people of all ages to read. Includes digital books, author presentations, and book lists for children, teens, adults, educators and parents.
What Works Clearinghouse
Billed as a "central and trusted source of scientific evidence for what works in education." Includes a registry of education evaluation researchers; standards for reviewing and synthesizing education research; assessments "of the rigor of research evidence on the effectiveness" of various kinds of interventions; and practice guides with research-based recommendations. Provided by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences.