Research Guides: College of Humanities & Social Sciences: Find Articles

Start Your Research Here

Following is a selected list of databases to begin your research. To access all SUU research databases go to the Library / Research / Articles & Journals:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text academic journals in many disciplines, typically limited to issues older than 1-5 years. Search for your topic from the JSTOR search window or select BROWSE by Subject.
Oxford Reference Online - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Search over 350 dictionaries and other reference resources in all subjects, using this single search interface from the famous publisher, Oxford University Press.
Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.
Westlaw Campus This link opens in a new window

Key Resources: Communication

Following is a selected list of Communication research databases. To access all SUU research databases go to the Library / Research / Articles & Journals / Behavioral & Social Sciences:

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for more than 620 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 820 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 500 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated Communication Thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e., searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals covered as "core").

Key Resources: English

Following is a selected list of English research databases. To access all SUU research databases go to the Library / Research / Articles & Journals / Arts & Humanities

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

In addition to the bibliography, the database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals; the association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography; and a proprietary, searchable directory of noted authors' names, with links to brief descriptive notes.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window

Key Resources: History

Following is a selected list of History research databases. To access all SUU research databases go to the Library / Research / Articles & Journals / Arts & Humanities

Key Resources: Philosophy

Following is a selected list of Philosophy research databases. To access all SUU research databases go to the Library / Research / Articles & Journals / Behavioral & Social Sciences:

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window

Key Resources: Political Science, Public Administration, Law

Following is a selected list of Political Science, Public Administration, and Law research databases. To access all SUU research databases go to the Library / Research / Articles & Journals / Behavioral & Social Sciences:

Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The Public Administration Abstracts index contains more than 93,600 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1974.
Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window
This database draws from a diverse array of scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents to provide up-to-date information on a broad range of topics of concern to the world today.

Key Resources: Psychology

Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Key Resources: Sociology

Ethnic NewsWatch (1990 - current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch (1970 - current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
In addition to nearly 900 full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,500 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from nearly 420 "priority" coverage journals and over 2,900 "selective" coverage journals. Complete with extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources the database also includes searchable cited references are provided.

What the icons mean

Is there full text?

= full text available
= limited full text or abstracts only

Source details:

= open access (no login required)
= provided by Utah Academic Library Consortium
= statistics
= U.S. Government source

Format:

= Media: audio, video, images
= MS Word
= MS Excel
= MS PPT
= PDF

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan enables current SUU students, faculty, and staff to request books or receive electronic copies of articles that are available from other libraries.

To use Interlibrary Loan, from the library homepage, choose the Research button, then Interlibrary Loan.

If you've searched the Library Catalog and discover the SUU library doesn't have the book you need. Book requests will be delivered in approximately one week of request.
If you've searched the eJournal Finder for a journal that has an article you want and find that the SUU library dosn't have access to that journal. Articles will be delivered as electronic (pdf) copies to your Interlibrary Loan account, usually within a few days.t.