Research Guides: Film Studies: Research Help

Welcome to the Film Studies Research Guide!

This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on Film Studies research by providing an overview of what Film Studies resources are available via the Sherratt Library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.

Databases

The Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Film Studies:

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Comprehensive video database covering more than 79,000 titles on anthropology, business, counseling, film health, history, music, and more curated for the educational experience of all types of library patrons.
Arts & Humanities Database
Hundreds of journal titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.
ARTstor
Digital library of more than 1M images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists and artists' estates.
JSTOR
Full text academic journals in many disciplines, typically limited to issues older than 1-5 years. Search for your topic from the JSTOR search window or select BROWSE by Subject.
Kanopy
Kanopy is a streaming video resource to which SUU subscribes. The current videos to which the university has access are listed alphabetically in the linked pages and may be viewed by students, faculty, and staff.
Literature Resource Center
Full text critical analysis, biographies and bibliographies on over 90,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes all of Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography and selected portions of Contemporary Literary Criticism.
MLA International Bibliography
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals & series, as well as book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international, and includes titles and full-text links from J-STOR and Project Muse, Wiley-Blackwell and Taylor & Francis. This resource also contains hundreds of thousands of subject names and terms.

Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

In addition to the bibliography, the database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals; the association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography; and a proprietary, searchable directory of noted authors' names, with links to brief descriptive notes.
Oxford Art Online
Access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today
Project Muse
Journals and select books from the university presses of Johns Hopkins, Ohio State, Penn State, U of California, U of Arizona, U of Maryland, U of North Carolina, U of Virginia, and other institutions

Covers literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
ProQuest Ebook Central

ProQuest Ebook Central is your ultimate Ebook Platform providing breadth and depth of authoritative content which offers scholarly ebooks from leading publishers paired with a sophisticated platform.

Other Helpful Resources

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Note: to get full text access to the articles you'll locate via Google Scholar, follow these instructions to set up your browser:

Click the three bars located in the upper, left-hand corner of the Google Scholar home screen
Click Settings
Click Library links
Enter Southern Utah into the search box and press Enter
Click the checkbox that appears next to Southern Utah University
Click the Save button

All of your Google Scholar results will now include links to full text articles that are available via the SUU Library. These links will be located to the right of each listed article

Journals and Periodicals

Below is a list of several film-related journals we have available via electronic format.

Books and Ebooks

Here at the Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and ebooks. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Film Studies (the call numbers can help you to find materials that are located on our 2nd level shelves).

PN - Literature (General) including Motion Pictures (see particularly call numbers PN1993-PN1999)
PR - English Literature
PS - American Literature

Phil Roche

Email Me

Contact:

My office is Sherratt Library 302C
My email address is roche@suu.edu
To schedule an appointment to connect with me, click "book now" above

You may also reach me by phone at 435-586-1955

Subjects: Dance & Theatre Arts, Kinesiology, Physical Education