Research Guides: English: Research Help

Welcome

Welcome to the Research Guide for English!

This guide has been designed to help you with research in your English courses, by providing an overview of some of the key resources available via the Sherratt Library in the areas of English and Literature. It includes information on how to find and use them.

Article and Information Databases

The Sherratt Library provides access to a number of article & information databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to English:

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive video database covering more than 79,000 titles on anthropology, business, counseling, film health, history, music, and more curated for the educational experience of all types of library patrons.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Full text books of nearly every work printed in Great Britain and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. NOTE: through this interface, all our ProQuest databases are searched by default, if you would like to only search EEBO, click on the link in the phrase "You are searching 8 databases containing..." and deselect all but the EEBO database, then do your searching.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale Literary Sources (GLS) is an integrated research experience, GLS brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text academic journals in many disciplines, typically limited to issues older than 1-5 years. Search for your topic from the JSTOR search window or select BROWSE by Subject.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text critical analysis, biographies and bibliographies on over 90,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes all of Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography and selected portions of Contemporary Literary Criticism.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals & series, as well as book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international, and includes titles and full-text links from J-STOR and Project Muse, Wiley-Blackwell and Taylor & Francis. This resource also contains hundreds of thousands of subject names and terms.
Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

In addition to the bibliography, the database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals; the association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography; and a proprietary, searchable directory of noted authors' names, with links to brief descriptive notes.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Curated collection of material showing differing points of view on current social issues. Articles from Opposing Viewpoints, Current Controversies, At Issue, Contemporary Issues Companion, and Gale Information Plus.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies includes articles written by over 4,000 scholars from around the globe. These authors are leaders in their fields and are teaching at the top institutions in the world. This new interactive map highlights the extensive work of these impressive contributors, with easy linking to their work here on Oxford Bibliographies and beyond.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Poetry and Short Story Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, full-text collection of hundreds of thousands poems, short stories and related content. Includes audio recordings, vidoes, lesson plans, and teaching and learning guides.
Note: This is a Public Library Pioneer database that can be accessed from any Utah internet address. When using a smart phone or tablet you need an internet connection or Wi-Fi. 3G or 4G connections require logging in with your local public library card.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals and select books from the university presses of Johns Hopkins, Ohio State, Penn State, U of California, U of Arizona, U of Maryland, U of North Carolina, U of Virginia, and other institutions
Covers literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The largest single article platform available in Sherratt Library, searching across databases in major subject areas including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Other Helpful Resources

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Note: to get full text access to the articles you'll locate via Google Scholar, follow these instructions to set up your browser:

Click the three bars located in the upper, left-hand corner of the Google Scholar home screen
Click Settings
Click Library links
Enter Southern Utah into the search box and press Enter
Click the checkbox that appears next to Southern Utah University
Click the Save button
All of your Google Scholar results will now include links to full text articles that are available via the SUU Library. These links will be located to the right of each listed article

Journals and Periodicals

Although many of the journals we carry in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is preferable. Below is a list of journals we have in print and electronic formats. See titles for links to each journal (note: journals and periodicals designated as "print" are available in the Print Collection on the first floor of Sherratt Library).

Books and Ebooks

Here at the Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and ebooks. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to English (the call numbers can help you to find materials that are located on our shelves).

PN - Literature (General)
PQ - French Literature, Italian Literature, Spanish Literature, Portuguese Literature
PR - English Literature
PS - American Literature

Phil Roche

Email Me

Contact:

My office location is Sherratt Library 303H
My email address is roche@suu.edu
To schedule an appointment to connect with me, click "book now" above

You may also reach me by phone at 435-586-7718

Get Help!

Chat with a Librarian

Do you have questions? We're here to help!

OR, text your question to
435-215-4SUU (4788)

Library Hours

Sunday: 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Monday - Thursday: 7:00 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.

Friday: 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Saturday: 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.