Research Guides: Theatre Arts: Research Help

Welcome to the Theatre Arts Research Guide!

This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on Theatre Arts Research by giving an overview of what Theatre Arts Resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.

Databases

Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Theatre Arts:

Academic Search Ultimate (ASU) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General collection of journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. Search results can be limited to full text and scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive video database covering more than 79,000 titles on anthropology, business, counseling, film health, history, music, and more curated for the educational experience of all types of library patrons.
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Acting & Actor Training, American Theatre, Classical Theatre, Contemporary Performance
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Research in theatre and the performing arts, with 450+ full-text titles, including 140+ full-text journals, and 300+ full-text books & monographs. From the American Society for Theatre Research, From 1984 - present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text academic journals in many disciplines, typically limited to issues older than 1-5 years. Search for your topic from the JSTOR search window or select BROWSE by Subject.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of classical music recordings from the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 248,000 tracks. Classical, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals and select books from the university presses of Johns Hopkins, Ohio State, Penn State, U of California, U of Arizona, U of Maryland, U of North Carolina, U of Virginia, and other institutions
Covers literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
Twentieth-Century Drama This link opens in a new window
The most important dramatic works from the last century from the English-speaking world, this database is the essential resource for the study and research of the drama of this influential period. Features plays from noted playwrights as well as lesser known dramatists, the collection includes works by over 300 writers.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
This release of The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, and other scholarly materials.

Journals and Periodicals

Although many of the journals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go. Below is a list of journals we have in print and electronic formats. See titles for links to each journal. (Note: Print copies of journals are housed on the first floor of Sherratt Library, organized alphabetically by title.)

Books and Ebooks

Here at Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Theatre Arts (they can help you find items faster).

PN 1530 The monologue
PN 1551 The dialogue
PN 1560-1590 The performing arts
PN 1585-1589 Centers for the performing arts
PN 1600-3307 Drama
PN 1993-1999 Motion pictures
PN 1997-1997.85 Plays, scenarios, etc.
PN 2000-3307 Dramatic representation. The theater
PN 2061-2071 Art of acting
PN 2085-2091 The stage and accessories
PN 2131-2193 By period
PN 2131-2145 Ancient
PN 2152-2160 Medieval
PN 2171-2179 Renaissance
PN 2181-2193 Modern
PN 2219.3-3030 Special regions or countries
PN 3035 The Jewish theater
PN 3151-3171 Amateur theater
PN 3175-3191 College and school theatricals
PN 3203-3299 Tableaux, pageants, "Happenings," etc.
PS 330-353 American Drama
PT 9605-9625 Drama Collections

Matt Nickerson

Contact:

435-586-1955 (office)