Research Guides: Shakespeare Studies (Minor): Research Help

Welcome to the Shakespeare Studies Research Guide!

This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on Shakespeare Studies Research by giving an overview of what Shakespeare Studies Resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.

Databases

Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Shakespeare Studies:

Academic Search Ultimate (ASU) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General collection of journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. Search results can be limited to full text and scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Full text books of nearly every work printed in Great Britain and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. NOTE: through this interface, all our ProQuest databases are searched by default, if you would like to only search EEBO, click on the link in the phrase "You are searching 8 databases containing..." and deselect all but the EEBO database, then do your searching.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text academic journals in many disciplines, typically limited to issues older than 1-5 years. Search for your topic from the JSTOR search window or select BROWSE by Subject.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals & series, as well as book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international, and includes titles and full-text links from J-STOR and Project Muse, Wiley-Blackwell and Taylor & Francis. This resource also contains hundreds of thousands of subject names and terms.
Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

In addition to the bibliography, the database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals; the association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography; and a proprietary, searchable directory of noted authors' names, with links to brief descriptive notes.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
This release of The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, and other scholarly materials.

Journals and Periodicals

Although many of the journals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go. Below is a list of journals we have in print and electronic formats. See titles for links to each journal. (Note: Print copies of journals are housed on the first floor of Sherratt Library, organized alphabetically by title.)

Books and Ebooks

Here at Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Shakespeare Studies (they can help you find items faster).

PE 814-896 Early Modern English
PR 421-429 Elizabethan era (1550-1640)
PR 641-744 By period
PR 2199-3195 English renaissance (1500-1640)

Matt Nickerson

Contact:

435-586-1955 (office)