Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gerald R. Sherratt Library

 

Biology: Research Help

Welcome to the Biology Research Guide!

This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on Biology Research by giving an overview of what Biology Resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them. When in doubt, contact the Biology liaison librarian.

Databases

SUU's Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. A library database is a search engine to find abstracts, journal articles, e-books, or multimedia. If you find an article in a database but we do not have access to the full-text version, you can use our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) services and we will get it for you from another library. This service is free. For help on how to search a database, please check our research guide on using databases, or contact the liaison librarian for Biology. Below is a list of the most commonly used databases with content related to Biology, to get you started. Go to the Library website for the complete list of SUU’s Biology databases.

Other Online Resources

Journals and Periodicals

Although many of the journals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form and searchable through our databases, some are only available in hard copy or print. Below is a list of commonly used biology journals. You can search inside these electronic journals directly by clicking on the title [not operational yet]. Print copies of journals are housed on the first floor of Sherratt Library, organized alphabetically by title.


  • American Journal of Botany
  • American Journal of Human Biology
  • American Naturalist (Print + Online)
  • Human Development (Print) 
  • Journal of Zoology
  • Natural History
  • Nature    
  • PLoS Biology

Books and Ebooks

Here at Sherratt Library, you can find our books and ebooks using the Library Catalog. We use the Library of Congress classification system to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Based on this classification, each book as an address or call number that you can find on the label on the spine of a book. The cool thing about this is that if you find a book you like, the books immediately surrounding it will have similar topics so you can browse around to find more information. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Biology to help you find what you need. For example, books with call numbers starting with QL are about Zoology. Within the QL subclass, call numbers in the range QL750-795 are specifically about animal behavior. For a more detailed breakdown for each classification subclass, see the box on the right called Library of Congress (LOC) Biology. For information on how to search for books, check out our research guide on the Library catalog, or contact your friendly librarian.


CLASS Q - SCIENCE

Subclass QH Natural history and Biology

Subclass QK Botany

Subclass QL Zoology

Subclass QM Human Anatomy

Subclass QP Physiology

Subclass QR Microbiology
 

Anne Diekema's picture
Anne Diekema
Contact:
LIB 303E Gerald R. Sherratt Library
(435) 586-5435 / https://diekema.youcanbook.me/
Website

Library of Congress (LOC) Biology

CLASS Q - SCIENCE

Subclass QH Natural history and Biology
QH1-278.5 Natural history (General)
QH1-(199.5) General - Including nature conservation, geographical distribution
QH201-278.5 Microscopy
QH301-705.5 Biology (General)
QH359-425 Evolution
QH426-470 Genetics
QH471-489 Reproduction
QH501-531 Life
QH540-549.5 Ecology
QH573-671 Cytology
QH705-705.5 Economic biology

Subclass QK Botany
QK1-989 Botany
QK1-474.5 General - Including geographical distribution
QK474.8-495 Spermatophyta. Phanerogams
QK494-494.5 Gymnosperms
QK495 Angiosperms
QK504-(638) Cryptogams
QK640-(707) Plant anatomy
QK710-899 Plant physiology
QK900-989 Plant ecology 

Subclass QL Zoology
QL1-991 Zoology
QL1-355 General - Including geographical distribution
QL360-599.82 Invertebrates
QL461-599.82 Insects
QL605-739.8 Chordates. Vertebrates
QL614-639.8 Fishes
QL640-669.3 Reptiles and amphibians
QL671-699 Birds
QL700-739.8 Mammals
QL750-795 Animal behavior
QL791-795 Stories and anecdotes
QL799-799.5 Morphology
QL801-950.9 Anatomy
QL951-991 Embryology 

Subclass QM Human Anatomy
QM1-695 Human anatomy
QM1-511 General
QM531-549 Regional anatomy
QM550-577.8 Human and comparative histology
QM601-695 Human embryology

Subclass QP Physiology
QP1-(981) Physiology
QP1-345 General - Including influence of the environment
QP351-495 Neurophysiology and neuropsychology
QP501-801 Animal biochemistry
QP(901)-(981) Experimental pharmacology 

Subclass QR Microbiology
QR1-502 Microbiology
QR1-74.5 General
QR75-99.5 Bacteria
QR99.6-99.8 Cyanobacteria
QR100-130 Microbial ecology
QR171 Microorganisms in the animal body
QR180-189.5 Immunology
QR355-502 Virology