Research Guides: Mathematics: Research Help

Welcome to the Mathematics Research Guide!

This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on Mathematics Research by giving an overview of what Mathematics Resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.

Databases

Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to [discipline]:

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
An encyclopedia set on a science and technology topics that includes articles, research updates, definitions, illustrations and graphics (contractually restricted to one user at a time)
American Mathematical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
This site has open access research journals in the areas of pure and applied mathematics. Other journals at the site require subscription access, which we cannot provide.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Critically reviews of the most significant primary research literature for 29 focused disciplines within the biological, medical, physical and social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text academic journals in many disciplines, typically limited to issues older than 1-5 years. Search for your topic from the JSTOR search window or select BROWSE by Subject.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
References and reviews of the world's mathematical literature from the American Mathematical Society. 1940 to present. Updated monthly
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals and select books from the university presses of Johns Hopkins, Ohio State, Penn State, U of California, U of Arizona, U of Maryland, U of North Carolina, U of Virginia, and other institutions
Covers literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The largest single article platform available in Sherratt Library, searching across databases in major subject areas including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Other Online Resources

arXiv.org
- Open e-print archive with over 100,000 articles in physics, 10,000 in mathematics, and 1,000 in computer science.
O'Reilly Online Learning
- To access, enter your SUU issued email address, which will provide temporary access for 3 days, (if you don't clear your cookies or change browsers). If you choose to register you may have longer access, otherwise just sign up for temporary access again. Search, browse, read full text information technology and business

Journals and Periodicals

Although many of the journals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go.

Follow this link to see the top journals in Physics & Mathematics. Click on Subcategories and pick a field like Discrete Mathematics to see a list of the top journals in that field. Once you find a title you are interested in, please search that title by following the link Find a Journal on the library’s homepage. This will indicate whether we have the journal in print or in databases, which databases, and the dates covered.

Books and Ebooks

Here at Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Mathematics (they can help you find items faster).

QA1-43 - General Mathematics
QA273-280 - Probabilities, Mathematical Statistics
QA299.6-433 - Analysis
TA329-348 - Engineering Mathematics, Engineering Analysis

Both print books and ebooks can be found by searching the library catalog, here. You can go directly to an ebook databases to search for materials. Those resources are listed below.

EBSCO eBook Comprehensive Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Many of these ebook titles appropriate for research at the college level are also searchable through the SUU Library Catalog, but due to the rotating nature of this collection, your most effective searching is done directly at the database.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 160,000 eBooks from over 60 publishers including Springer, Taylor & Francis and Wiley Interscience covering a broad range of subject areas and topics. Users can search, cite, browse and read the full text of the eBooks online.
O'Reilly Online Learning This link opens in a new window
For renewable temporary access, choose the first option in the drop-down box on the landing page (i.e. Not listed), and enter your SUU-assigned email address in the next dialog box. Good for three days if you don't clear your cookies or change browsers. If you choose to register you may have longer access, otherwise just sign up for temporary access again. Search, browse, read full text information technology and business ebooks online.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Ebook Central is your ultimate Ebook Platform providing breadth and depth of authoritative content which offers scholarly ebooks from leading publishers paired with a sophisticated platform.

Scott Lanning

Email Me

Contact:

Scott Lanning
Library 303B
To make an appointment click on "book now" or send me an email, or stop by my Zoom room and see if I'm online! (https://suu-edu.zoom.us/j/5781944851)

435 865-8156

Get Help!

Chat with a Librarian

Do you have questions? We're here to help!

OR, text your question to
435-215-4SUU (4788)

Manage and Cite your Resources

For information on research and citation management, go to the Specialized Resources tab at the top of this page, and scroll down to the Manage and Cite your Resources box.