Hotel, Resort, & Hospitality Management: Research Help

Welcome to the Hotel, Resort, & Hospitality Management Research Guide!

This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on Hotel, Resort, & Hospitality Management Research by giving an overview of what Hotel, Resort, & Hospitality Management Resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.

Databases

Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Hotel, Resort, & Hospitality Management:

Other Online Resources

• United States Census Bureau
• Bureau of Economic and Business Research
  • Utah State Data Center includes and economic summary for the state of Utah. While the Publications & Studies section has a wide variety of economic information, including detailed studies of tourism in Utah.
• County Business Patterns
  • Another part of the Census website is County Business Patterns. This is a great source to consult for information about the number of local establishments in an industry.
• Data.Gov 
  • The U.S. government is one of the biggest publishers of data in the world. This site searches their datasets. Data.gov is the home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
• Economic Census
  • Part of the Census website, the Economic Census is conducted every five years, and it provides extensive information about industries that includes sales, costs of resources and labor, and employment. This resource is best searched with a NAICS code.
• Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages
  • Which includes custom tabular data on wages in various industries, along with
• Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages in Map format
  • Which includes custom data presented by geographic area.
• O'Reilly Online Learning 
  • To access, enter your SUU issued email address, which will provide temporary access for 3 days, (if you don't clear your cookies or change browsers). If you choose to register you may have longer access, otherwise just sign up for temporary access again. Search, browse, read full text information technology and business ebooks online.
• U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC) 
  • This is the official SEC site where filings for publicly traded companies can be found. You can also find mutual fund filings here as well. The Forms List link explains what information is collected in all the various forms.
• Utah Office of Tourism
  • Of course there is information on Utah tourism, under the Research Planning tab, in addition, you can also find the Economic Report to the Governor here as well.

Journals and Periodicals

Although many of the journals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go.

Follow this link to see the top journals in Business.  Click on Subcategories and pick a field like Tourism & Hospitality to see a list of the top journals in that field.  Once you find a title you are interested in, please search that title by following the link Find a Journal on the library’s homepage.  This will indicate whether we have the journal in print or in databases, which databases, and the dates covered.

Books and Ebooks

Here at Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Hotel, Resort, & Hospitality Management (they can help you find items faster).

• TX851-885 - Dining-room Service
• TX901-946.5 - Hospitality Industry. Hotels, Clubs, Restaurants, etc. Food Service.
• TX950-953 - Taverns, Barrooms, Saloons.
• TX955-985 - Building Operation and Housekeeping. 

Both print books and ebooks can be found by searching the library catalog, here. You can go directly to an ebook database to search for materials. Those resources are listed below.