Business Analytics: Research Help

Welcome to the Business Analytics Research Guide!

This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on Business Analytics Research by giving an overview of what Business Analytics Resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.

Databases

Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Business Analytics:

Data Resources Online

• AWS Open Data
  • The Registry of Open Data on AWS makes it easy to find datasets made publicly available through AWS services. Browse available data and learn how to register your own datasets.
• Data.Gov 
  • The U.S. government is one of the biggest publishers of data in the world. This site searches their datasets. Data.gov is the home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
• DataONE Search 
  • Data Observation Network for Earth (DataONE) is a community driven project providing access to data across multiple member repositories, supporting enhanced search and discovery of Earth and environmental data. DataONE promotes best practices in data management through responsive educational resources and materials.
• FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
  • "FRED is an online database consisting of hundreds of thousands of economic data time series from scores of national, international, public, and private sources. FRED, created and maintained by the Research Department at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, goes far beyond simply providing data: It combines data with a powerful mix of tools that help the user understand, interact with, display, and disseminate the data. " About FRED
• Google Dataset Search 
  • Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across the Web through a simple keyword search. The tool surfaces information about datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web, making these datasets universally accessible and useful.
• Kaggle
  • Use over 50,000 public datasets and 400,000 public notebooks to conquer any analysis in no time.
• OECD Library
  • OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the knowledge base of OECD's analysis and data.
• Open Data Network
  •  
• Registry of Research Data Repositories 
  • re3data.org searches data repositories in the U.S. and Europe. re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data.
• Resources.data.gov
  • Resources.data.gov is an online repository of policies, tools, case studies, and other resources to support data governance, management, exchange, and use throughout the federal government
• U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC) 
  • This is the official SEC site where filings for publicly traded companies can be found. You can also find mutual fund filings here as well. The Forms List link explains what information is collected in all the various forms.

Other Online Resources

• O'Reilly Online Learning 
  • To access, enter your SUU issued email address, which will provide temporary access for 3 days, (if you don't clear your cookies or change browsers). If you choose to register you may have longer access, otherwise just sign up for temporary access again. Search, browse, read full text information technology and business ebooks online.

Journals and Periodicals

Although many of the journals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go.

Follow this link to see the top journals in Business.  Click on Subcategories and pick a field like Game Theory & Decision Science or Strategic Management to see a list of the top journals in that field.  Once you find a title you are interested in, please search that title by following the link Find a Journal on the library’s homepage.  This will indicate whether we have the journal in print or in databases, which databases, and the dates covered.

Books and Ebooks

Here at Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Business Analytics (they can help you find items faster).

There is not one good call number for Business Analytics. You will end up looking in a number of places. Please ask a librarian for help. Some examples are below.

• HA - Statistics
• HD30.2-30.25 - includes Management Information Systems, Decision Support Systems, and Statistical Methods
• HF5716 - Business Mathematics
• HG176 - Finance, Statistics

Both print books and ebooks can be found by searching the library catalog, here. You can go directly to an ebook databases to search for materials. Those resources are listed below.