Research Guides: Dance: Research Help

Welcome to the Dance Research Guide!

This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on Dance Research by giving an overview of what Dance Resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.

Databases

Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Dance:

Academic Search Ultimate (ASU) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General collection of journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. Search results can be limited to full text and scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
Dance Education Literature Research descriptive index (DELRdi) This link opens in a new window
DELRdi is an index to research and literature in dance education written from 1926 to the present, including dissertations, theses, articles, conference proceedings, etc.
The Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index (DELRdi) is an index of literature and research from 1926 to the present that informs teaching, learning, and future directions of research in the field of dance education. It contains extensive descriptions of several thousand literary works including theses, dissertations, journal articles, conference proceedings and other documents from over 200+ different publications, more than 150 university dance programs, many organizations, government agencies, and individuals. In addition to providing basic citation information, the DELRdi provides detailed descriptive information on the methodology, techniques, and characteristics of the literature documented in the index. Full text of a document is included when permission is granted by the copyright holder. The DELRdi is the culminating product of a three-year research project supported by the United States Department of Education (2001-2004).
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Acting & Actor Training, American Theatre, Classical Theatre, Contemporary Performance
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Research in theatre and the performing arts, with 450+ full-text titles, including 140+ full-text journals, and 300+ full-text books & monographs. From the American Society for Theatre Research, From 1984 - present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text academic journals in many disciplines, typically limited to issues older than 1-5 years. Search for your topic from the JSTOR search window or select BROWSE by Subject.
On the Boards This link opens in a new window
A Website that delivers full-length, high quality contemporary performance films to your TV, desktop, or mobile device. One of the first contemporary performance organizations to begin filming works by top caliber artists with multiple high-definition cameras, collaboratively editing the films with the artists, and delivering feature-length performance films to audiences around the globe.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals and select books from the university presses of Johns Hopkins, Ohio State, Penn State, U of California, U of Arizona, U of Maryland, U of North Carolina, U of Virginia, and other institutions
Covers literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 490 journals.

Journals and Periodicals

Although many of the journals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go. Below is a list of journals we have in print and electronic formats. See titles for links to each journal. (Note: Print copies of journals are housed on the first floor of Sherratt Library, organized alphabetically by title.)

Books and Ebooks

Here at Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Dance (they can help you find items faster).

DANCE (GV1580-GV1799)

GV 1585 - Dictionaries, Encyclopedias
GV1588 - Philosophy (and Theory)
GV1589 - Study and Teaching
GV1590-GV1594 - General Works
GV1595 - Special Aspects of the Subject as a Whole
GV1597 - Dancing as a Profession
GV1600 - Dance Criticism, Appreciation
GV1645-GV1728 - Dance History (and Historical Dance)
GV1743 - National Dances, Folk Dances and Dancing (General)
GV1746-GV1771 - Social Dancing, Ballroom Dancing
GV1781-GV1795 - Theatrical Dancing (Biography: GV 1785)
GV1796-GV1799 - Special Dances
M1450 - Dance Music

Matt Nickerson

Contact:

435-586-1955 (office)