Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Geology Research Guide!
The purpose of this guide is to support the Geology program in the Geosciences section of SUU's Department of Physical Science. Here you will find resources related as closely as possible to the subject of Geology aimed at supporting research in that field.
Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Geology:
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
An encyclopedia set on a science and technology topics that includes articles, research updates, definitions, illustrations and graphics (contractually restricted to one user at a time)
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of data commonly encountered by physical scientists and engineers, a comprehensive one-volume reference resource for science research
Geological Society of America Publications This link opens in a new window
Full text access to Geological Society of American journals subscribed to by the SUU Library including Geology, Geological Society of America Bulletin, and GSA Today.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
From the American Geosciences Institute, this geosciences database indexes books, maps, government reports, conference papers, theses and dissertations. The geology of North America is covered from 1669 to the present, and global coverage dates back to 1933. Accessed through EBSCOhost.
GeoRef In Process This link opens in a new window
Unedited records for material being indexed prior to integration in the main GeoRef database. Some of the records originate from older, non-English language literature while other, more current records are simply not yet complete.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Search for article abstracts in over 2000 journals in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities, published by Elsevier. Records include citations and abstracts only.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited-reference searching. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.
Periodicals and Serials
Although many of the journals and annuals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, sometimes a print copy is the only way to go. Below is a list of periodicals and serials we have in print and electronic formats. (Note: Print copies of periodicals are housed in the collapsible shelves on the first level, organized alphabetically by title, whereas serials are in the book shelves, organized by call number, like books).
Books and Ebooks
At Sherratt Library we use the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize the items on our shelves. These call "numbers" (they're really letters) on the spines are used for most of our items, including print books and ebooks. Below is a list of call numbers that relate to Geology (browsing these sections in the shelves on the 2nd level or in Reference on the 1st level, can reveal resources you never even knew you needed)!
QE1-996 is the range for Geology
QE 1-350 General
QE 351-399 Mineralogy
QE 420-499 Petrology
QE 521-545 Volcanoes & Earthquakes
QE 601-613 Structural Geology
QE 640-699 Stratigraphy
QE 701-760 Paleontology
QE 761-899 Paleozoology
QE 901-996 Paleobotany