Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the French Language Research Guide!
This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on French language acquisition by giving an overview of what French language resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them. This guide was built in support of the SUU French major and minor programs.
Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to French language and literature:
Academic Search Ultimate (ASU) This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects, including current topics relevant to Francophones. Search results can be limited to French language, full text, and scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive video database covering more than 67,000 titles on a vast array of subjects, including French language media!
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text academic journals in many disciplines, including French language and literature, typically limited to issues older than 1-5 years. Search for your topic from the JSTOR search window or select BROWSE by Subject. Includes French language support in the Advanced Search mode.
LexisNexis This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni® features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including French language news sources like L'Express, Le Figaro Online, Le Monde, and Le Télélegramme—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as French language support, alerts, saved searches, a collaborative workspace with shared folders, and annotated documents.
Other Online Resources
- Gallica - Online collections of the Bibliothèque nationale de France.
- Grevisse - Grammar resources, "Pour l'amour de la langue française."
- Larousse - Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other online resources.
- Le Robert - Dictionaries and other language resources.
Periodicals and Serials
Although many of the journals and annuals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, sometimes a print copy is the only way to go. Below is a list of periodicals and serials we have in print and electronic formats. (Note: Print copies of periodicals are housed in the collapsible shelves on the first level, organized alphabetically by title, where serials are in the book shelves, organized by call number, like books).
Books and eBooks
At Sherratt Library we use the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize the items on our shelves. These call "numbers" (they're really letters) on the spines are used for most of our items, including print books and ebooks. Below is a list of call numbers that relate to French (browsing these sections in the shelves on the 2nd level or in Reference on the 1st level, can reveal resources you never knew you needed)!
Click either of the links below to see a PDF of more complete breakdowns for each number range at the Library of Congress.
PC2001-3761 French (language)
PQ1-3999 French Literature