Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Art Research Guide!
This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on art research by giving an overview of what art resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them. This resource guide was created in support of the SUU Art Major.
Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Art:
Academic Search Ultimate (ASU)
The largest single index of current journals, magazines, and newspapers available to students at SUU, including those of you studying Art in some way!
Art Full Text
Full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications on fine, decorative and commercial art, photography, folk art, film, and architecture. 660 periodicals dating back to 1972, including nearly 360 peer-reviewed journals, and citations to over 14,000 art dissertations.
Digital library of more than 1M images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists and artists' estates.
Full text academic journals in many disciplines (including Art), typically limited to issues older than 1-5 years. Search for your topic from the JSTOR search window or select BROWSE by Subject.
This streaming video service always provides a variety of videos chosen by professors in your discipline, including some which focus on Art and art-related topics.
Oxford Art Online
Access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today
Other Online Resources
Periodicals and Serials
Although many of the journals and annuals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, sometimes a print copy is the only way to go. Below is a list of periodicals and serials we have both in print and electronic formats (and occasionally, only in print). Note that print copies of periodicals are housed in the collapsible shelves on the first level, organized alphabetically by title, serials are in the book shelves, organized by call number, like books. What's the difference between a periodical and a serial? Periodicals are published 2 or more times per year; serials are published annually or less frequently. View the links below for holdings and location:
Books and eBooks
At Sherratt Library we use the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize the items on our shelves. These call "numbers" (they're really letters) on the spines are used for most of our items, including print books and ebooks. Below is a list of call numbers that relate to Art (browsing these sections in the shelves on the 2nd level, or 3rd level for oversized items, can reveal resources you never knew you needed)!
Click any of the links below to see a PDF of more complete breakdowns for each number at the Library of Congress.
N Visual arts
NC Drawing. Design. Illustration
NE Print media
NK Decorative arts
NX Arts in general
TT Handicrafts. Arts and crafts
Z Books (General). Writing. Paleography. Book industries and trade. Libraries. Bibliography