Research Guides: Secondary Education: Research Help

Welcome to the Secondary Education Research Guide!

This guide is to help support your Secondary Education research by giving an overview of what Secondary Education resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.

Databases

The Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Secondary Education:

Education Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Supports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. Includes thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources.
Coverage: 1988 - current
Educator's Reference Desk This link opens in a new window
Free resource providing access to resources on a variety of education issues, lesson plans, and a collection of over 200 responses to popular questions on the practice, theory, and research of education.
Middle and Junior High Core Collection (H.W.Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection development database providing librarian-selected titles chosen specifically for readers grades 5 through 9.
Senior High Core Collection (H.W.Wilson) This link opens in a new window
This collection is a selective list of fiction and non-fiction titles—recommended by collection development specialists—for high school students (grades 9 through 12).
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database indexes over 260 teacher and adminstrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. Areas of coverage include assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, and Language Arts.

More Online Resources

National Educator's Association - The nation's largest professional organization in support of public education
Utah Education Network (UEN) - Connects Utah educational institutions with quality education resources.
Utah's Online Library - Educational databases and resources for teachers and students provided by the state.
Utah State Board of Education - Elected officials that provides oversight for public education in Utah, including standards and licensing.

Journals and Periodicals

Although many of the journals we have in the Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go. Below is a list of journals we have in print and electronic formats. See titles for links to each journal. (Note: Print copies of journals are housed on the first floor of the Sherratt Library, organized alphabetically by title.)

Books and Ebooks

Here at the Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Secondary Education (they can help you find items on the shelf).

Class L: Education is the classification used by the Library of Congress Classification system and the one we use here at SUU. Education books are located on the Second Floor at these call numbers:

L - Education (General)
LA - History of Education
LB - Theory and Practice of Education
LC - Special Aspects of Education
LD - Individual Institutions - United States
LE - Individual Institutions - America (except United States)
LF - Individual Institutions - Europe
LG - Individual Institutions - Asia, Africa, Indian Ocean Islands, Australia, New Zealand, Pacific Islands
LH - College and School Magazines and Papers
LJ - Student Fraternities - United States
LT - Textbooks

Caitlin Gerrity

Email Me

Contact:

Gerald R. Sherratt Library

435-586-1908

Get Help!

Chat with a Librarian

Do you have questions? We're here to help!

OR, text your question to
435-215-4SUU (4788)