It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Early Childhood Development Research Guide!
This guide is to help support your Early Childhood Development Research by giving an overview of what Early Childhood Development resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.
The Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Early Childhood Development:
Comprehensive resource for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students, providing extensive full-text coverage for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines.
This database provides access to more than 530 full-text journals, including Canadian Journal of Psychiatry, European Archives of Psychiatry & Clinical Neuroscience, European Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, European Journal of Neuroscience, International Journal of Behavioral Medicine, International Journal of Psychiatry in Clinical Practice, International Review of Psychiatry, Journal of Clinical & Experimental Neuropsychology, Journal of Mental Health, Social Psychiatry & Psychiatric Epidemiology and many more.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection also provides particularly strong coverage in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
Zero to Three - transforming the science of early childhood into helpful resources, practical tools and responsive policies.
Journals and Periodicals
Although many of the journals we have in the Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go. Below is a list of journals we have in print and electronic formats. See titles for links to each journal. (Note: Print copies of journals are housed on the first floor of the Sherratt Library, organized alphabetically by title.)
American Journal on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (print)
Here at the Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Early Childhood Development (they can help you find items on the shelf).
GN63 - Human Variation - Children
HQ771-792.2 - Child Development, Including Child Rearing, Child Life, Play, Socialization, Children's Rights