Research Guides: Family Services: Research Help

Welcome to the Family Services Research Guide!

This guide is to help support your Family Services research by giving an overview of what Family Services resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.

Databases

The Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Family Services:

Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Povides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The NCJRS is a Federally sponsored program, hosts one of the largest criminal and juvenile justice libraries and databases in the world, the NCJRS Abstracts Database. Click LIBRARY for NCJRSA Abstracts Database Search and Online Federal Resources.
Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, administration and economy, administration and politics, administration and society, administrative structures and organization, public and social services, public service personnel and theory and methods
The Public Administration Abstracts index contains more than 93,600 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1974.

More Online Resources

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) - oversees programs and social services that improve the well-being of individuals, families, and communities.
Utah Department of Human Services (HS) - provides individualized services for children, youth, families, and adults.
ChildCare.gov - helps parents access safe and quality child care services in their community that best suits their family’s needs.
Office of Head Start (OHS) - provides comprehensive services to eligible young children and their families.
Family and Youth Services Bureau (FYSB) - supports the organizations and communities that work to reduce the risk of youth homelessness, adolescent pregnancy and domestic violence.

Journals and Periodicals

Although many of the journals we have in the Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go. Below is a list of journals we have in print and electronic formats. See titles for links to each journal. (Note: Print copies of journals are housed on the first floor of the Sherratt Library, organized alphabetically by title.)

Books and Ebooks

Here at the Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Family Services (they can help you find items on the shelf).

HQ503-1064 - The family. Marriage. Home.
HQ755.7-759.92 - Parents. Parenthood Including parent and child, husbands, fathers, wives, mothers.
HQ767.8-792.2 - Children. Child development Including child rearing, child life, play, socialization, children's rights.
HQ793-799.2 - Youth. Adolescents. Teenagers.
HV40-69 - Social service. Social work. Charity organization and practice Including social case work, private and public relief, institutional care, rural social work, work relief.
LB1102-1140.5 - Child Study. Early Childhood Education. Preschool Education. Nursery Schools.

Education Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Supports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. Includes thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources.
Coverage: 1988 - current

Caitlin Gerrity

Email Me

Contact:

Gerald R. Sherratt Library

435-586-1908

Get Help!

Chat with a Librarian

Do you have questions? We're here to help!

OR, text your question to
435-215-4SUU (4788)