It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is to help support your Family Services research by giving an overview of what Family Services resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.
The Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Family Services:
The NCJRS is a Federally sponsored program, hosts one of the largest criminal and juvenile justice libraries and databases in the world, the NCJRS Abstracts Database. Click LIBRARY for NCJRSA Abstracts Database Search and Online Federal Resources.
Comprehensive resource for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students, providing extensive full-text coverage for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines.
This database provides access to more than 530 full-text journals, including Canadian Journal of Psychiatry, European Archives of Psychiatry & Clinical Neuroscience, European Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, European Journal of Neuroscience, International Journal of Behavioral Medicine, International Journal of Psychiatry in Clinical Practice, International Review of Psychiatry, Journal of Clinical & Experimental Neuropsychology, Journal of Mental Health, Social Psychiatry & Psychiatric Epidemiology and many more.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection also provides particularly strong coverage in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
Up-to-date bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, administration and economy, administration and politics, administration and society, administrative structures and organization, public and social services, public service personnel and theory and methods
The Public Administration Abstracts index contains more than 93,600 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1974.
Comprehensive database of sociology journals, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
In addition to nearly 900 full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,500 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from nearly 420 "priority" coverage journals and over 2,900 "selective" coverage journals. Complete with extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources the database also includes searchable cited references are provided.
ChildCare.gov - helps parents access safe and quality child care services in their community that best suits their family’s needs.
Office of Head Start (OHS) - provides comprehensive services to eligible young children and their families.
Family and Youth Services Bureau (FYSB) - supports the organizations and communities that work to reduce the risk of youth homelessness, adolescent pregnancy and domestic violence.
Journals and Periodicals
Although many of the journals we have in the Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go. Below is a list of journals we have in print and electronic formats. See titles for links to each journal. (Note: Print copies of journals are housed on the first floor of the Sherratt Library, organized alphabetically by title.)
Here at the Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Family Services (they can help you find items on the shelf).
HQ503-1064 - The family. Marriage. Home.
HQ755.7-759.92 - Parents. Parenthood Including parent and child, husbands, fathers, wives, mothers.
HQ767.8-792.2 - Children. Child development Including child rearing, child life, play, socialization, children's rights.
HQ793-799.2 - Youth. Adolescents. Teenagers.
HV40-69 - Social service. Social work. Charity organization and practice Including social case work, private and public relief, institutional care, rural social work, work relief.