Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gerald R. Sherratt Library

 

Foundation Directory Help: Home

Search Foundation Directory Online (FDO)

SUU subscribes to the Foundation Directory Online Professional (FDO) database.  The FDO database includes information about the largest 10,000 public and private foundations in the U.S. The database provides basic information for each foundation including: contact information, giving priorities, geographic concentration, dollar amount of average awards, and how to apply for a grant.

FDO also provides full text access from more than 250,000 IRS 990 forms, 80,000 detailed funder profiles, half a million recently awarded grants, RFPs, key staff affiliations, publications, news and job postings.

NOTE: Our contract with the Foundation Center limits campus access to computer workstations in the Gerald R. Sherratt Library.

Search the Foundation Direction Online:

Guided Tour and Handout

Below you'll find a link to Foundation Directory online with brief video tours including FDO Tour, Search Functionality, Power Search, Visualization Tools, and Search Grants, and a PDF guide created by the Foundation Center for using the Foundation Directory Online. (All pages are copyrighted by the Foundation Center and are not to be altered.)

 

Search Tips

990 Tax Forms

  • Form 990, Return of Organization Exempt From Income Tax
  • Form 990-PF, Return of Private Foundation

EIN (Employer Identification Number)
EIN is the number assigned to each foundation and public charity by the Internal Revenue Service. If you know the Employer Identification Number of the grantmaker you want to look up, enter it in the EIN box. The EIN should be entered in the search field without a hyphen.

IssueLab
​Foundation Center service providing access to case studies, evaluations, white papers and issue briefs.

NAICS
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

Search techniques
There are three Boolean operators that can be incorporated into a search:AND, OR, and NOT. Each of these can be used in the Name, City, Zip, and EIN fields (although not all three of them will be useful in every field).

  • Placing OR between search terms broadens a search, retrieving all records containing either term (Minneapolis OR St. Paul)
  • The AND operator between search terms narrows a search, retrieving only records containing both terms (Marvin AND Emily).
  • The NOT operator limits a search, excluding records with terms you enter to the right of the NOT operator (Ford NOT Motor).

Wildcards can be used to search for variations on words. An asterisk (*)allows you to find words with variations on several letters at the beginning or end of a word. For example, Am* in the Name field will bring up American Equine Foundation, the Al-Ameen Foundation, the God Bless America fund, etc. A question mark (?) allows you to find variations on a single letter and is most useful if you are uncertain of the spelling of a word. For example, minn?apolis allows you to find Minneapolis, even if you are uncertain if the second vowel is an e or an i.