Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gerald R. Sherratt Library

 

encyclopedias-dictionaries: Home

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias: Links & Descriptions

 

Database Description
Access Science McGraw-Hill Encyclopedias of Science & Technology is a science resource that includes online articles, research updates, definitions, illustrations and graphs, news, and media rich content.
Bartleby.com Online reference, literature and nonfiction, including the Columbia Encyclopedia, History Encyclopedia, American Heritage Dictionary, Roget's Thesaurus, and much more.
Biography Reference Bank Biography database has combined the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus coverage from Biography Index.
Encyclopedia Brittanica Complete reference collection from over 50 publishers.
Encyclopedia of Life A free, online collaborative encyclopedia intended to document and organize all information about life on Earth. Content ranges from historical literature and biological descriptions to images, videos, and distribution maps.
Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias covering fields of Business, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, and Social Science.
Merriam-Webster Dictionary Contains the online version of the Merriam-Webster Dictionary and Thesaurus.
Oxford English Dictionary The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words past and present from across the English-speaking world.
Oxford Reference Online Access to reference sources in all disciplines.
Roget's Thesaurus Search for word synonyms.
Sage Knowledge (reference platform) Online full-text reference material in the social sciences (incl. business, education, geography).
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy The SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.
Visual Thesaurus An online thesaurus that also provides a visual map.
Visualwords Graphic Dictionary Provides a visual map of the relationship between words.
Wikipedia A free encyclopedia resource where users maintain the content.