Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gerald R. Sherratt Library

 

special-collections-digital-archives_leavitt-collection_about: Home

Barbara A. Matheson Special Collections: Digital Archives

Michael O. Leavitt Collection: About


In the course of his governorship, Michael O. Leavitt collected papers, photographs, and audio/visual materials that defined the actions and responsibilities of a modern state governor. Before Governor Leavitt left office to join the George W. Bush Administration in 2003, he recognized that the role of a governor serving at the end of one century and the beginning of another, has significant value unto itself in the field of human record. He established a record-keeping system that included a daily calendar of his activities along with the normal governor's papers and memoranda. The Michael O. Leavitt Collection offers a unique inside look into the work of a key state executive during a historic time in Utah's history.

The Michael O. Leavitt online archive endeavors to make the entire collection of state papers, photographs, and artifacts searchable and viewable via a single Web portal. This will be the first online collection of its kind and we feel it is an apt tribute to the vision and leadership demonstrated by former Governor Leavitt.