Databases
Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Geology:
Academic Search Ultimate (ASU) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This large, current database can provide journal, magazine, and newspaper articles on most subjects including GIS issues. Search results can be helpfully limited to full-text and scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles.
AccessScience This link opens in a new windowAn encyclopedia set on a science and technology topics that includes articles, research updates, definitions, illustrations and graphics (contractually restricted to one user at a time). Give "GIS" a try for more than 50 entries, each of which has references you can mine for more information.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Computer science journals and conference proceedings from Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). Loads of articles regarding specific applications of GIS, GIS issues and challenges, and new advancements in GIS. Don't miss the Special Interest Group (SIG) Sigspatial which "provides a forum for researchers, engineers, and practitioners in all applications that involve spatial information."
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Critically reviews of the most significant primary research literature for 29 focused disciplines within the biological, medical, physical and social sciences. Searching "GIS" brings up hundreds of articles that show how GIS is being used in a multitude of other disciplines.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
This collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Includes hundreds of articles about the use of GIS to make advancements in these areas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Full text academic journals in many disciplines, typically limited to issues older than 1-5 years. Search for GIS from the JSTOR search window or select BROWSE by Subject to find subjects related to GIS.
O'Reilly Online Learning This link opens in a new windowDozens of books on GIS or GIS-related subjects! At O'Reilly, when the dialog box appears, choose the first link (institution not listed) then enter your SUU-issued email address. It provides temporary access for 3 days. If you need longer, just to the process again.
Other Online Resources
- American Library Association (ALA) Map & Geospatial Information Round Table (MAGIRT) - One of the most active national exchanges of information regarding GIS: ALA MAGIRT.
- Base line - Publication of MAGIRT, in newsletter format--read the latest issue or explore the archives!.
- GeoTech - Committee within MAGIRT providing a forum to highlight "current and relevant issues, applications, and practices relating to emerging geographic information sciences and technologies."
- GIS Data (USGS) - USGS is a primary source of geographic information system (GIS) data. Data and information is presented in spatial *and* geographic formats.
- GISdegree.org (Resources) - This resources page is designed to help you better understand the GIS field, career opportunities, and the many tools available to you. Learn about essential GIS software, upcoming conferences and meetups, and more.
- GPS: The Global Positioning System - A global public service brought to you by the U.S. government.
- MAGIRT's Guide - Includes guides to GIS and Other Computerized Mapping Products.
Periodicals and Serials
Although many of the journals and annuals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, sometimes a print copy is the only way to go. Below is a list of periodicals and serials we have in print and electronic formats. (Note: Print copies of periodicals are housed in the collapsible shelves on the first level, organized alphabetically by title, whereas serials are in the book shelves, organized by call number, like books).
Books and Ebooks
At Sherratt Library we use the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize the items on our shelves. These call "numbers" (they're really letters) on the spines are used for most of our items, including print books and ebooks. Below is a list of call numbers that relate to Geographic Information Science & Technology (browsing these sections in the shelves on the 2nd level or in Reference on the 1st level, can reveal resources you never even knew you needed)! Click on the links below for a further breakdown of each letter. Note also that because of the complexity of GIS systems, other geographic details may also be helpful, see the Geography Research Guide.
G - GEOGRAPHY. ANTHROPOLOGY. RECREATION
G Geography (General). Atlases. Maps
GA Mathematical geography. Cartography
This link opens in a new window