Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gerald R. Sherratt Library

 

Library Resources and Services for Distance Learners: Research Help

Library resources for students participating in online and distance classes.

Welcome to the SUU Library Guide to Resources and Services for Distance Learners

The purpose of this guide is to direct students and faculty to library resources and service that support online learning and teaching. The SUU Library, http://library.suu.edu, provides the same services and materials to distance learners as on-campus students. We also work with faculty who teach distance students to promote and deliver library services.

Library Resources and Services for Distance Learners

General Databases

SUU Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of general databases. To find subject specific databases, visit our A-Z Databases List.

Get Articles through Interlibrary Loan

If you need an article that is not available in one of our databases, you may be able to request it through Interlibrary loan. Many articles can be delivered electronically. Visit our Interlibrary Loan page for details.

Academic Journals Online

Although articles from a wide variety of academic journals are available in our databases, there are times when you need access to a specific journal. Search for journals by title at our "Find Journal by Title" tool. (NOTE: The Find Journal by Title tool does NOT find articles, but it does tell you whether the library has a particular periodical in full text in a database).

E-Books

SUU Library provides online access to a wide variety of e-books available in our library catalog. You can also find e-books in the following collections.

Message a Librarian

 

CLICK HERE for ZOOM Questions Desk
8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. (M-F)

  Chat with a Librarian  

  Do you have questions? We're here to help!  

  OR, text your question to  
  435-215-4SUU (4788)

 

Gerald R. Sherratt Library

Profile Photo
SUU Library
Contact:
Southern Utah University
351 West University Blvd.
Cedar City, UT 84720
(435) 865-8240

New in 2020

We have a few new features on the Library Website!

New in Fall of 2020, the main search box on the library website ("Search Sherratt Library Resources") has the ability to search for all of our online system simultaneously. Simply enter your search terms and hit "Go T-birds" to see what we have in our databases, e-book collections, print collections and more. Search by keyword, title or author. Limit the search full-text, book and e-books, or even images. Try it out, and always remember to ask a librarian if you need help.

We also have a new library catalog (see image below). Follow the "Books & eBooks Catalog" link at the bottom of the library homepage to access it.

Another new feature in 2020 is the Virtual Questions Desk. Speak directly to a librarian through Zoom, 8:30 AM-4:30 PM Monday through Friday. Just follow the "ZOOM Reference" link on the library homepage. You can also use the "Chat with a Librarian" service on the homepage or through text messages to 435-215-4SUU (4788). Students can schedule a time at https://suu-library-questions-desk.youcanbook.me/