Research Guides: Political Science: Find Articles

Start Your Research Here

Following is a selected list of databases to begin your research. To access all SUU research databases go to the Library / Research / Articles & Journals:

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth coverage of important issues of the day. Articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
Ethnic NewsWatch (1990 - current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to essential, often-overlooked perspectives of ethnic and minority groups in newspapers, magazines, and journals, 1990-present. The publications offer both national and regional coverage. Ethnic NewsWatch™ is the only current database devoted to presenting multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource. Coverage begins in 1990 and is updated daily with new content. Many of the titles are not found in any other aggregated resource.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Curated collection of material showing differing points of view on current social issues. Articles from Opposing Viewpoints, Current Controversies, At Issue, Contemporary Issues Companion, and Gale Information Plus.
Oxford Reference Online - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Search over 350 dictionaries and other reference resources in all subjects, using this single search interface from the famous publisher, Oxford University Press.
Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.
ProQuest Newsstand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes nearly 2000 news sources including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, The Christian Science Monitor, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, The Denver Post and USA Today.

Key Resources: Political Science

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Critically reviews of the most significant primary research literature for 29 focused disciplines within the biological, medical, physical and social sciences.
GenderWatch (1970 - current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current and historical perspectives on the negotiation of gender roles affecting both men and women.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text academic journals in many disciplines, typically limited to issues older than 1-5 years. Search for your topic from the JSTOR search window or select BROWSE by Subject.
LexisNexis This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni® features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals and select books from the university presses of Johns Hopkins, Ohio State, Penn State, U of California, U of Arizona, U of Maryland, U of North Carolina, U of Virginia, and other institutions
Covers literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by APA, PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.
Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database, Public Affairs Index, covers all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict.
This database draws from a diverse array of scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents to provide up-to-date information on a broad range of topics of concern to the world today.
Westlaw Campus This link opens in a new window

What the icons mean

Is there full text?

= full text available
= limited full text or abstracts only

Source details:

= open access (no login required)
= provided by Utah Academic Library Consortium
= statistics
= U.S. Government source

Format:

= Media: audio, video, images
= MS Word
= MS Excel
= MS PPT
= PDF

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan enables current SUU students, faculty, and staff to request books or receive electronic copies of articles that are available from other libraries.

To use Interlibrary Loan, from the library homepage, scroll down and click on Interlibrary Loan under Using the Library.

If you've searched the Library Catalog and discover the SUU library doesn't have the book you need. Book requests will be delivered in approximately one week of request.
If you've searched the Full Text Finder or Find Journals by Title for a journal that has an article you want and find that the SUU library doesn't have access to that journal. Articles will be delivered as electronic (pdf) copies to your Interlibrary Loan account, usually within a few days.

myEBSCOhost

MyEBSCOhost allows you to save articles to personal folders, set up search and journal alerts. In any EBSCO database, click the Sign In link at the top of the page and Create a new Account.

After signing into your account, resume searching and click on the Add to Folder link under articles to put that article in your personal folders.