Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gerald R. Sherratt Library

 

Nursing: Find Books/eBooks

Guide to selected print and electronic nursing and health sciences information sources available to SUU students, faculty and staff. For more information or help, contact Library Reference at 865-8040.

Library Catalog

Locate nursing and medical books and media in the SUU Library with the SUU Library CatalogQuick Search will work for most searches. Use Advanced Search when you need to modify your search by language, format, or library location.

Library catalog quick search bar

 

Catalog Quick Search

Keyword: Format:  

Searching other library catalogs:  From the Research Tab, go to Other Libraries

  • WorldCat.org - use for finding books on your topic in other libraries, then request through Interlibrary Loan.
  • Utah's Catalog: search all Utah academic libraries

 

Finding books in the library

 

Books in the Reference Collection (First floor) and Main Collection (Second floor), and media in the Media Collection (basement level) are classified using the Library of Congress Classification system which groups subjects in these call numbers:

R   - Medicine

RA - Public aspects of medicine

RB - Pathology

RC - Internal medicine, first aid, neruology, psychiatry, geriatrics

RD - Surgery

RJ - Pediatrics

RM - Therapeutics, pharmacology, diet therapy

RT  - Nursing

RX - Homeopathy

RZ - Other systems of medicine

eBooks

Medical eBooks

The number of eBooks added to the library collection is increasing rapidly. Ebooks can be read, searched and printed, and in some cases downloaded from the library catalog.

eBooks Catalog Search
From the Quick Search window type your keyword, select eBooks as the Format. Click Search to find eBooks.

Gale Virtual Reference Library-Medicine
In Basic Search, scroll down to Medicine to find medical encyclopedias on Cancer, Children's Health, Genetic Disorders, Surgery, etc.

NCBI Bookshelf
Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. NCBI Bookshelf is a collection of free biomedical books that can be searched directly or from linked data in other NCBI databases. The collection includes biomedical textbooks, other scientific titles, genetic resources such as GeneReviews, and NCBI help manuals.

Oxford Reference Online - Medicine 
Resources with information to get you started on your topic. Below the search box click on "search within my subject specialization" and select "medicine and health" as your area.

STAT!Ref
Nursing and medical reference eBooks. Use Titles tab for list of eBooks, and the Resources tab for Stedman's Medical Dictionary, PubMed, and other reference resources. (Sign up for My STAT!Ref when accessing on campus, then use username and password to access STAT!Ref from iPad and Android mobile apps: STAT!Ref Mobile apps.STAT!Ref logo

Additional eBook Resources

EBSCO eBooks
The above link to EBSCO eBooks can be found in all the Subject Database lists.

  • In Academic Search Premier, or any EBSCO database, click the Choose Databases link above the search windows, unclick Academic Search Premier, then click eBook Collection