Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gerald R. Sherratt Library

 

Military Science: Research Help

Welcome to the Research Guide in Military Science

This guide is a jump-start on library research in military science and history by giving an overview of what material is available in and through the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.

Basic Resources (Military Sci)

Databases

Sherratt Library provides access to journal and magazine databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to military service, history, leadership, and psychology:

Journals and Periodicals

Although many of the journals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go (print copies of journals are on the first floor of Sherratt Library, organized alphabetically by title.)

  • Ar

Books and Ebooks

Depending on your branch of service and specialty you'll use material across any library collection. Sometimes wandering the shelves is useful. If you can find one book on a topic, others like it will be sitting close by on the same shelf.  Be sure to look at both the Reference collection on the first floor for general helps like encyclopedias, and at the circulating collection on the second floor for books you can take with you.

Class H   Social sciences

HD 57+  Leadership theory

HM1261 Leadership practice

Class T   Technology

subclass TA Engineering (General). Civil engineering (General)

Class U   Military science

subclass UA Armies: Organization, Distribution

subclass UB Military administration

subclass UC Maintenance and transportation

subclass UD Infantry

subclass UE Cavalry. Armor

subclass UF Artillery

subclass UG Military engineering

subclass UH Other services

Class V   Naval history [organized similarly to U]

Of course, use the library catalogue to find books by author, title, or subject; and you're always welcome to ask for help at the library Questions Desk

Your librarian

Profile Photo
Richard Saunders
Contact:
Office hours: https://richard-saunders.youcanbook.me
Sherratt Library 303f
435.865.8392
Website
Contact: GoodReads Page