It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Professional Communication Research Guide!
This guide is to help you get a jump start on professional communication research by giving an overview of what professional communications resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.
Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to [discipline]:
Full text articles for more than 2,200 business journals, available from 1965 to present, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Additional content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Regional Business News is a supplemental database for customers of Business Source Premier, provided at no additional charge. With daily updates, Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional U.S. and Canadian business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). Regional Business News has full text for 106 sources.
CMMC provides full-text searching in over 200 journals and abstracts of other publications in the fields of communication and mass media.
CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for more than 620 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 820 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 500 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated Communication Thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e., searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals covered as "core").
Journals and Periodicals
Although many of the journals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go. Below is a list of journals we have in print and electronic formats. Print copies of journals are housed on the first floor of Sherratt Library, organized alphabetically by title. Follow the links below to access journals available online.
Here at Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to [discipline] (they can help you find items faster).