Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gerald R. Sherratt Library

 

Library Resources and Services for SUU Faculty: Overview

Welcome to the Guide to Library Resources and Services for SUU Faculty

The purpose of this guide is to provide information about library resources and services that support SUU faculty in their research and teaching. The Gerald R. Sherratt Library at SUU, http://library.suu.edu, can help in a number of ways, including delivering library research instruction for your students, finding course-specific online resources such as ebooks, journal articles, and videos, and providing research support for faculty members and their students, to name a few. 

Liaison Librarians

SUU Library provides each academic department on campus with a designated librarian called a Liaison Librarian. These Librarians are your direct link to the library and support instruction in a variety of ways. Contact information for Liaison Librarians is also available in the Liaison Librarian list.

Library Instruction Sessions

A Liaison Librarian can visit your classes (in-person or virtually) to provide personalized instruction about library resources and information literacy concepts in support of their research assignments. Sessions might include discussing topic selection, research questions, demonstrations of discipline-specific databases, and information about relevant library resources. Library Instruction sessions may be general or specific to the needs of your students, such as help on a research assignment. Contact your Liaison Librarian to arrange a Library Instruction Session.

Custom Canvas Modules and Online Guides

The Library offers a set of existing Canvas Information Literacy Modules that you can import directly into a course from Canvas Commons. Liaison Librarians can create custom Canvas modules too, where needed. These may cover research skills and information literacy concepts that are relevant to a specific assignment in your course, or other important research related concepts. Contact your Liaison Librarian to discuss custom Canvas modules.

The Library provides many subject-specific online guides through our LibGuides (library research guides) system. These include guides that highlight library materials that are relevant to all SUU majors, and some minors and graduate programs. These guides narrow down what the library has to offer to make it easier for students and faculty to find the library resources they need. In addition to these discipline-specific guides, Library Liaisons can create online guides for specific courses. Find links to online guides that relate to the subjects you teach at the Library's library guides and liaisons menu page.

Request Library Materials
Liaison Librarians manage library collections in their assigned subject areas. Instructors can request items for purchase related to their courses and put them on reserve at the circulation desk (see "Library Materials, Course Reserves, and T-Bird Texts" tab for details). You can also request items that support your own research. Items might include books, e-books, films, or online/streaming videos. If the library already owns the item, they will let you know. Contact your Liaison Librarian to request items.

Research Support for Students

Librarians and other library staff will provide research support for your students through research consultations, our Questions Desk (Virtual Questions Desk for Fall 2020), and assistance locating digital and physical items in the library.

Research Consultations

Research consultations might be done through email or an in-person or virtual session. Liaison Librarians generally consult with students taking classes in their assigned subject areas. You can refer your students to your Liaison Librarian, or even build consultations into an assignment in collaboration with the Librarian. Consultations can be scheduled via email or youcanbook.me with the Liaison Librarian.

Virtual Questions Desk  
SUU Librarians provide support to students through a virtual "Chat with a Librarian" service on the homepage of library.suu.edu or through text messages to 435-215-4SUU (4788). New this year is our Zoom Questions Desk (https://suu-edu.zoom.us/my/questionsdesk). Students can schedule a time at https://suu-library-questions-desk.youcanbook.me/. These services are generally available Monday through Thursday 9:30 AM to 4:30 PM, and Friday 9:30 AM to 3:30 PM.

Assistance Locating Library Items
Librarians and our helpful library staff at the Check Out Desk can help you and your students locate items in the library, including items you put on reserve. Find more information on the library's Check Out Desk page.

Copyright , Fair Use, and Open Educational Resources

The Library works to serve the learning community of Southern Utah University (SUU) by facilitating knowledge creation, curation, access, transmission, and innovation. As such, the Library works to educate and promote lawful use and creation of copyrighted works, though it does not provide legal advice. Find out more by contacting SUU's Scholarly Communications Librarian, Rosie Liljenquist at rosieliljenquist@suu.edu or schedule an appointment at https://rosieliljenquist.youcanbook.me/.

Copyright 
Copyright law attempts to balance the competing interests of the scholarly and education communities with commercial interests to assure responsible copyright behavior. It is critical that faculty, staff, students, and other members of the community are informed about their rights and responsibilities.
Find more information at library.suu.edu/copyright/overview.

Fair Use
The four factors to consider as to whether the use of copyrighted material is considered fair use are: 1. Purpose and character of the use (**not all educational uses are fair use**); 2. Nature of the copyrighted work (factual or creative/artistic); 3. Amount of the copyrighted work (**there are no official, legal, guidelines that detail specific amounts**); and 4. Market effect or value of the copyrighted work.  Each of these four factors are weighed collectively to determine whether a use is permissible through fair use; no one factor is more significant than the others. Find more information at library.suu.edu/copyright/fairuse

Open Educational Resources

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research resources that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others. "Open" means the user can retain (make and own a copy), reuse (use in a wide range of ways), revise (adapt, modify, and improve), remix (combine two or more), and redistribute (share with others). The goal of using OER is not only saving students money by replacing expensive commercial textbooks, it is also about improving student success (increased GPAs, higher retention rates, fewer cases of DFUW) and instructional innovation. Find out more at library.suu.edu/oer.

Library Materials, Course Reserves, and T-Bird Texts

Library Materials
        
The Library has a large and varied collection of items. Collections are managed by Liaison Librarians, and items may be purchased on request. The library offers materials in a variety of formats, including:

  • Print and ebooks

  • Print and electronic Journals

  • Databases

  • Video and audio

  • Streaming Video (such as Kanopy)

  • Equipment

  • Other specialty items

Course Reserves
Course reserves are supplementary course materials provided by the instructor or Library (such as textbooks for a selection of GE courses) which are located at the Circulation Desk.

The library's course reserves support the provision of equal access for SUU students to the materials -- either provided by the instructor or library owned -- necessary for course completion and the promotion of student success. Through section 108 of copyright law, libraries are able to disseminate and reproduce certain materials within the scope of education. These materials can include print and media. During the COVID-19 pandemic, the Library may provide reserved items electronically on a limited basis. Find more information at the library's Course Reserves page. A request form is available at the Library's Reserve Request page.

T-Bird Texts
T-Bird Texts are textbooks available for students to use for short periods of time in the Library. Materials placed in the T-Bird Text section of the library's course reserves are selected for General Education courses with high enrollment and/or high textbook cost, or because of other extenuating circumstances deemed appropriate by librarians. Find a list of currently available textbooks at the library's Course Reserves list in the catalog.

Library Liaison List

Department/Liaison Area Library Liaison Email Office Phone Office
American Language & Culture Center Maralee Carlin maraleecarlin@suu.edu (435) 865-8733 LB 306A
Anthropology Maralee Carlin maraleecarlin@suu.edu (435) 865-8733 LB 306A
Art & Design Doug Wayman douglaswayman@suu.edu (435) 586-5480 LB 303J
Aviation Richard Saunders rsaunders@suu.edu (435) 865-8392 LB 303F
Biology Anne Diekema annediekema@suu.edu (435) 586-5435 LB 303E
Business Scott Lanning lanning@suu.edu (435) 865-8156 LB 303B
Communication Chris Younkin chrisyounkin@suu.edu (435) 865-8054 LB 303I
Computer Science Scott Lanning lanning@suu.edu (435) 865-8156 LB 303B
Criminal Justice Paula Mitchell mitchellp@suu.edu (435) 586-7976 LB 303D
Dance Matt Nickerson nickerson@suu.edu (435) 586-1955 LB 302C
Education Caitlin Gerrity caitlingerrity@suu.edu 435) 586-1908 LB 303C
Engineering Richard Saunders rsaunders@suu.edu (435) 865-8392 LB 303F
English Christopher Clark christopherclark1@suu.edu (435) 586-7952 LB 303H
Family Life & Human Development Caitlin Gerrity caitlingerrity@suu.edu 435) 586-1908 LB 303C
Geosciences Doug Wayman douglaswayman@suu.edu (435) 586-5480 LB 303J
History Richard Saunders rsaunders@suu.edu (435) 865-8392 LB 303F
Interdisciplinary Studies Anne Diekema annediekema@suu.edu (435) 586-5435 LB 303E
Juvenile Collection Paula Mitchell mitchellp@suu.edu (435) 586-7976 LB 303D
Languages Doug Wayman douglaswayman@suu.edu (435) 586-5480 LB 303J
Library Science Maralee Carlin maraleecarlin@suu.edu (435) 865-8733 LB 306A
Math Scott Lanning lanning@suu.edu (435) 865-8156 LB 303B
Music Richard Saunders rsaunders@suu.edu (435) 865-8392 LB 303F
Nursing Anne Diekema annediekema@suu.edu (435) 586-5435 LB 303E
Nutrition & Agriculture Rosie Liljenquist rosieliljenquist@suu.edu (435) 586-7946 LB 303K
OER & Scholarly Communications Rosie Liljenquist rosieliljenquist@suu.edu (435) 586-7946 LB 303K
Outdoor Recreation Matt Nickerson nickerson@suu.edu (435) 586-1955 LB 302C
Philosophy Doug Wayman douglaswayman@suu.edu (435) 586-5480 LB 303J
Physical Science Matt Nickerson nickerson@suu.edu (435) 586-1955 LB 302C
Political Science Paula Mitchell mitchellp@suu.edu (435) 586-7976 LB 303D
Psychology Chris Younkin chrisyounkin@suu.edu (435) 865-8054 LB 303I
Religion Doug Wayman douglaswayman@suu.edu (435) 586-5480 LB 303J
Sociology Richard Saunders rsaunders@suu.edu (435) 865-8392 LB 303F
Southwest Tech Matt Nickerson nickerson@suu.edu (435) 586-1955 LB 302C
Special Collections Paula Mitchell mitchellp@suu.edu (435) 586-7976 LB 303D
Special Initiatives Maralee Carlin maraleecarlin@suu.edu (435) 865-8733 LB 306A
Student Clubs Christopher Clark christopherclark1@suu.edu (435) 586-7952 LB 303H
T-Bird Texts Rosie Liljenquist rosieliljenquist@suu.edu (435) 586-7946 LB 303K
Theatre Matt Nickerson nickerson@suu.edu (435) 586-1955 LB 302C

Message a Librarian

 

CLICK HERE for ZOOM Questions Desk
8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. (M-F)

  Chat with a Librarian  

  Do you have questions? We're here to help!  

  OR, text your question to  
  435-215-4SUU (4788)

 

Gerald R. Sherratt Library

SUU Library's picture
SUU Library
Contact:
Southern Utah University
351 West University Blvd.
Cedar City, UT 84720
(435) 865-8240