Research Guides: Sustainability Studies: Research Help

Welcome to the Sustainability Studies Research Guide!

This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on Sustainability Studies Research by giving an overview of what Sustainability Studies Resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.

Databases

Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Sustainability Studies:

Academic Search Ultimate (ASU) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General collection of journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. Search results can be limited to full text and scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles for more than 2,200 business journals, available from 1965 to present, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Additional content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Regional Business News is a supplemental database for customers of Business Source Premier, provided at no additional charge. With daily updates, Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional U.S. and Canadian business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). Regional Business News has full text for 106 sources.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.This tool includes indexing and abstracts for more than 760,000 records and open access full text for more than 11,000 records.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of sociology journals, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
In addition to nearly 900 full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,500 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from nearly 420 "priority" coverage journals and over 2,900 "selective" coverage journals. Complete with extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources the database also includes searchable cited references are provided.

Journals and Periodicals

Although many of the journals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go. Below is a list of journals we have in print (and sometimes also in electronic formats.) See titles for links to each journal. (Note: Print copies of journals are housed on the first floor of Sherratt Library, organized alphabetically by title.)

Books and Ebooks

Here at Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Sustainability Studies (they can help you find items faster). This is a very broad and diverse subject and pertinent books on sustainability can be found under many different subjects. These are just a few of the major areas:

GE 1-350 Environmental sciences

GE 70-90 Environmental education

GE 170-190 Environmental policy

GE 195-199 Environmentalism. Green movement

GE 300-350 Environmental management

TD 1-1066 Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering

Matt Nickerson

Contact:

435-586-1955 (office)