Interdisciplinary Studies: Research Help

Welcome to the Interdisciplinary Studies Research Guide!

This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on Interdisciplinary Studies Research by giving an overview of what Interdisciplinary Studies Resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.

Databases

SUU's Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. A library database is a search engine to find abstracts, journal articles, e-books, or multimedia. If you find an article in a database but we do not have access to the full-text version, you can use our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) services and we will get it for you from another library. This service is free. For help on how to search a database, please check our research guide on using databases, or contact the liaison librarian for Interdisciplinary Studies. Below is a list of databases with content that covers multiple disciplines. To find databases in a specific discipline you can go to our complete list of Library databases and use the "All Subjects" box to select your discipline of choice.

Other Online Resources

• Association for Interdisciplinary Studies
• Bachelor of Interdisciplinary Studies at SUU (BIS)
• Master of Interdisciplinary Studies at SUUs (MIS)

Journals and Periodicals

Although many of the journals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form and searchable through our databases, some are only available in hard copy or print. Print copies of journals are housed on the first floor of Sherratt Library, organized alphabetically by title. Below is a selection of Interdisciplinary Studies journals and interdisciplinary journals.

• Academic Journal of Interdisciplinary Studies
• European Journal of Interdisciplinary Studies
• Interdisciplinary Science Reviews
• Journal of Interdisciplinary Sciences
• Journal of Interdisciplinary Studies
• Journal of Interdisciplinary Studies in Education
• Journal of Interdisciplinary and Intercultural Art

Books and Ebooks

Here at Sherratt Library, you can find our books and ebooks using the Library Catalog. We use the Library of Congress classification system to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Based on this classification, each book as an address or call number that you can find on the label on the spine of a book. The cool thing about this is that if you find a book you like, the books immediately surrounding it will have similar topics so you can browse around to find more information. By nature, interdisciplinary studies does not have a specific call number range. For general topics within the classification, see the box to the right. For information on how to search for books, check out our research guide on the Library catalog, or contact your friendly librarian. A list of books (with call numbers) and ebooks (linked) on the topic of Interdisciplinary Studies is included below:

• Abushouk, A. I., and Zweiri, M. (2016) Interdisciplinarity in World History : Continuity and Change. Cambridge Scholars Publishing.
• Akçeşme, B., et al. (2016) Interdisciplinarity, Multidisciplinarity and Transdisciplinarity in Humanities. Cambridge Scholars Publishing.
• Chandrasoma, R. (2010) Academic Writing and Interdisciplinarity. Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2010.
• Darbellay, F., Moody, Z., & Lubart, T. (Eds.). (2017). Creativity, design thinking and interdisciplinarity. Springer Singapore. [BF408 .C74 2018]
• Frodeman, R., Klein, J. T., & Pacheco, R. C. D. S. (Eds.). (2017). The Oxford handbook of interdisciplinarity. Oxford University Press. [BD255 .O94 2012]
• Graff, Harvey J. (2015) Undisciplining Knowledge : Interdisciplinarity in the Twentieth Century. Johns Hopkins University Press.
• Klein, J. T. (2005) Humanities, Culture, and Interdisciplinarity : The Changing American Academy. State University of New York Press. [AZ183 .U5 K57 2005]
• Lirette-Pitre, N., et al. Interdisciplinarity, Creativity, and Learning : Mathematics with Literature, Paradoxes, History, Technology, and Modeling. Information Age Publishing, 2009. [QA11.2 .I66 2009]
• Moran, J. (2002). Interdisciplinarity. Routledge. [PR21 .M67 2002]
• Østreng, Willy. (2010) Science Without Boundaries : Interdisciplinarity in Research, Society and Politics. UPA.[Q180.55 .I48 O87 2010]
• Newell, William H. (1998) Interdisciplinarity : essays from the literature [LB2361.5 .I55] 
• Weingart, P., and Stehr, N. (2000) Practising Interdisciplinarity. University of Toronto Press, Scholarly Publishing Division. [Q180.55 .I48 P73 2000]