Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gerald R. Sherratt Library

 

Nursing: Research Help

Welcome to the Nursing Research Guide!

This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on Nursing Research by giving an overview of what Nursing Resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them. When in doubt, contact the Nursing liaison librarian.

Databases

SUU's Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. A library database is a search engine to find abstracts, journal articles, e-books, or multimedia. If you find an article in a database but we do not have access to the full-text version, you can use our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) services and we will get it for you from another library. This service is free. For help on how to search a database, please check our research guide on using databases, or contact the liaison librarian for Nursing. Below is a list of the most commonly used databases with content related to Nursing, to get you started. Go to the Library website for the complete list of SUU’s nursing databases.

 

Other Online Resources

Journals and Periodicals

Although many of the journals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form and searchable through our databases, some are only available in hard copy or print. Below is a list of commonly used Nursing journals. You can search inside these electronic journals directly by clicking on the title [not operational yet]. Print copies of journals are housed on the first floor of Sherratt Library, organized alphabetically by title.


  • American Journal of Nursing
  • Clinical Nurse Specialist
  • Holistic Nursing Practice
  • JAMA : Journal of the American Medical Association
  • Journal of Nursing Care Quality
  • The Online Journal of Issues in Nursing

Books and Ebooks

Here at Sherratt Library, you can find our books and ebooks using the Library Catalog. We use the Library of Congress classification system to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Based on this classification, each book as an address or call number that you can find on the label on the spine of a book. The cool thing about this is that if you find a book you like, the books immediately surrounding it will have similar topics so you can browse around to find more information. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Nursing to help you find what you need. For example, books with call numbers starting with R are about Medicine. Within R, books with call numbers starting with RJ are about Pediatrics, and items with call numbers in the range RJ245-247 are specifically about Pediatric Nursing. For information on how to search for books, check out our research guide on the Library catalog, or contact your friendly librarian.

Library of Congress Classification CLASS R - MEDICINE
Subclass RA Public aspects of medicine
Subclass RB Pathology
Subclass RC Internal medicine
Subclass RD Surgery
Subclass RE Ophthalmology
Subclass RF Otorhinolaryngology
Subclass RG Gynecology and obstetrics
Subclass RJ Pediatrics
Subclass RK Dentistry
Subclass RL Dermatology
Subclass RM Therapeutics. Pharmacology
Subclass RS Pharmacy and materia medica
Subclass RT Nursing
Subclass RV Botanic, Thomsonian, and eclectic medicine
Subclass RX Homeopathy
Subclass RZ Other systems of medicine

Profile Photo
Anne Diekema
Contact:
LIB 303E Gerald R. Sherratt Library
(435) 586-5435 / https://diekema.youcanbook.me/
Website
Contact: Instagram Page

Evidence Based Practice

Evidence-based medicine (EBM) or evidence based practice (EBP):

Three arrow boxes pointing to EBP in the center, saying: Best Research Evidence, Clinical Expertise, and Patient Values & Preferences.

 

Evidence based practice relies on the premise that to make well informed decisions about practice, researchers need to access the best evidence about interventions. Evidence-based practice can be said to be an integration of the best research evidence from the literature, your own expertise and experience, and your clients' values and situation. (Sackett, 1996

a pyramid of "quality of evidence" with systematic reviews at the top (being the highest quality) and background information at the bottom (being the most basic quality).