Research Guides: Management: Research Help

Welcome to the Management Research Guide!

This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on Management Research by giving an overview of what Management Resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.

Databases

Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Management:

Academic Search Ultimate (ASU) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General collection of journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. Search results can be limited to full text and scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive video database covering more than 79,000 titles on anthropology, business, counseling, film health, history, music, and more curated for the educational experience of all types of library patrons.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles for more than 2,200 business journals, available from 1965 to present, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Additional content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Regional Business News is a supplemental database for customers of Business Source Premier, provided at no additional charge. With daily updates, Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional U.S. and Canadian business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). Regional Business News has full text for 106 sources.
Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database offers a variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans. The collection contains state-specific resources supported with demographic data and other local information, as well as business videos, interviews, lessons learned features, lectures and how to videos related to business management.
Note: This is a Public Library Pioneer database that can be accessed from any Utah internet address. When using a smart phone or tablet you need an internet connection or Wi-Fi. 3G or 4G connections require logging in with your local public library card.
Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database, Public Affairs Index, covers all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict.
This database draws from a diverse array of scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents to provide up-to-date information on a broad range of topics of concern to the world today.

Other Online Resources

O'Reilly Online Learning
- To access, enter your SUU issued email address, which will provide temporary access for 3 days, (if you don't clear your cookies or change browsers). If you choose to register you may have longer access, otherwise just sign up for temporary access again. Search, browse, read full text information technology and business ebooks online.

Journals and Periodicals

Although many of the journals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go.

Follow this link to see the top journals in Business. Click on Subcategories and pick a field like Business, Economics & Management or Strategic Management to see a list of the top journals in that field. Once you find a title you are interested in, please search that title by following the link Find Journal by Title on the library’s homepage. This will indicate whether we have the journal in print or in databases, which databases, and the dates covered.

Books and Ebooks

Here at Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Management (they can help you find items faster).

HD28-70 - Industrial Management
HD66-66.2 - Team Work in Industry
HF5549-5549.5 - Personnel Management

Scott Lanning

Email Me

Contact:

Scott Lanning
Library 303B
To make an appointment click on "book now" or send me an email, or stop by my Zoom room and see if I'm online! (https://suu-edu.zoom.us/j/5781944851)

435 865-8156

Get Help!

Chat with a Librarian

Do you have questions? We're here to help!

OR, text your question to
435-215-4SUU (4788)

APA Style

For help with APA style, visit our online guide: library.suu.edu/APA

Manage and Cite your Resources

For information on research and citation management, go to the Specialized Resources tab at the top of this page, and scroll down to the Manage and Cite your Resources box.