Research Guides: Excercise Science: Research Help

Welcome to the Exercise Science Research Guide!

This guide is to help you get a jumpstart on Exercise Science Research by giving an overview of what Exercise Science Resources are available in the library, along with some quick tips on how to find and use them.

Databases

Sherratt Library provides access to a number of databases on a wide range of subjects. Below is a list of databases with content related to Exercise Science:

Academic Search Ultimate (ASU) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General collection of journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. Search results can be limited to full text and scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed for doctors, research scientist, students and clinical specialists, this database provides full text for over 100 journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for over 1,300 nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) database, indexing for nearly 5,500 journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,500 journals. CINAHL also includes full text dating back to 1937. Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons provide concise overviews of disease and conditions and outline most effective treatment options.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that bring together in one place rigorous and up-to-date research on the effectiveness of nursing healthcare treatments and interventions, evidence based research, as well as methodology and diagnostic tests.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed has than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 490 journals.

Journals and Periodicals

Although many of the journals we have in Sherratt Library are available in electronic form, there are times when a print copy is the way to go. Below is a list of journals we have in print and electronic formats. See titles for links to each journal. (Note: Print copies of journals are housed on the first floor of Sherratt Library, organized alphabetically by title.)

Books and Ebooks

Here at Sherratt Library, we use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize most of our items, including print books and e-books. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to Exercise Science (they can help you find items faster).

GV201-555 - Physical Education & Training
GV557-1199 - Sports
GV706 - Sport Sociology & Psychology
GV711 - Coaching
GV1199-1570 - Games & Amusements (Card Games, Board Games, Computer Games, Magic Tricks)
GV1580-1799.4 - Dancing
GV1800-1860 - Circuses, Spectacles, etc.
QM - Human Anatomy
QP - Physiology
RC1200-1245 - Sports Medicine
RM656-950 - Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation

Matt Nickerson

Contact:

435-586-1955 (office)